The Eleventh International Competition for

The Erik Bruhn Prize

March 24, 2015

The Eleventh International Competition for

The Erik Bruhn Prize

March 24, 2015

Buy Tickets

Select a Performance

About the Competition

See the future stars of ballet in one thrilling night!

Erik Bruhn was one of the greatest male dancers of the 20th-century. Gifted with immense stage presence and a regal bearing, he personified for many the image of the danseur noble and also brought to his art a passion and sense of creative exploration matched by very few.

His connection with The National Ballet of Canada was a long and fruitful one, leading to his assuming the Artistic Directorship of the company in 1983, a position he held until his untimely death in 1986. Part of Mr. Bruhn’s legacy was The Erik Bruhn Prize, which he created so that it might be awarded regularly to two young dancers, male and female, who “reflect such technical ability, artistic achievement and dedication as I endeavoured to bring to dance.”

First held in 1988, The International Competition for The Erik Bruhn Prize has highlighted the talents of some of the finest young dancers from The Royal Danish Ballet, American Ballet Theatre, The Royal Ballet, The National Ballet of Canada and other companies. It gives audiences a chance to see some of the finest young performers on the international scene in one exceptional evening of dance.
In 2009, a Choreographic Prize was added to the prize to honour the best new dance work commissioned for the competition.

Erik Bruhn gallery View Gallery

The Competitors

Junxiong Zhao & Ji Young Chae, Boston Ballet
Choreographer: Yury Yanowsky

Christopher Evans & Futaba Ishizaki, The Hamburg Ballet
Choreographer: Hélias Tur-Dorvault

Ethan Watts & Hannah Fischer, The National Ballet of Canada
Choreographer: Robert Binet

Sebastian Haynes & Stephanie Chen Gundorph Møller, The Royal Danish Ballet
Choreographer: Alban Lendorf

Carlo Di Lanno & Wan Ting Zhao, San Francisco Ballet
Choreographer: Myles Thatcher

The Judges

Mikko Nissinen, Artistic Director, Boston Ballet

John Neumeier, Artistic Director, The Hamburg Ballet

Karen Kain, Artistic Director, The National Ballet of Canada

Nikolaj Hübbe, Artistic Director, The Royal Danish Ballet

Helgi Tomasson, Artistic Director, San Francisco Ballet.


“This glittering prize… gives audiences a peek at future world-class performers.” — Toronto Life 

“Features the best young dancers from several major companies and the standards are high” — Pointe Magazine 

“The Erik Bruhn Prize is a showcase of young talent from some of the most respected ballet companies in the world” —DanceView Times 

“The annual competition is open to the most promising young dancers and choreographers” —Toronto Sun 

Further Reading

Past Winners

The Eleventh International Competition for The Erik Bruhn Prize is presented by John and Claudine Bailey.

This Year's Competitors

Corps de Ballet members Hannah Fischer and Ethan Watts will represent the National Ballet at this year’s competition.

Read More

Past Winners

Many past competitors and winners of The Erik Bruhn Prize have gone on to become Principal Dancers and enjoy international careers.

Read More

Support Emerging Talent

Support the National Ballet's commitment to nurturing young dancers and choreographers.

Donate Today

Email Newsletter

Be the first to know when casting is announced by signing up for Ballet News.

Sign Up Today

Top image credit: Erik Bruhn with Artists of the Ballet, 1979. Photo by Henry Grossman.