Première mondiale

Frame by Frame

Du 1er au 10 juin 2018

Première mondiale

Frame by Frame

Du 1er au 10 juin 2018

Un ballet basé sur les œuvres de Norman McLaren
Par Robert Lepage et Guillaume Côté

À propos du ballet

Le cinéaste et animateur canadien légendaire Norman McLaren a établi
de nouvelles normes pour sa forme artistique tout au long de sa longue et illustre carrière.
Surtout connu pour son film Neighbours, récipiendaire d’un ACADEMY AWARD® (1952), les expérimentations de McLaren en diverses formes d’animation et son utilisation novatrice de son, de musique et de techniques de dessin sur film lui ont permis de créer des œuvres d’une richesse sans parallèle, d’une brillance et d’une beauté visuelle, influençant les générations suivantes de cinéastes partout au monde.

Maintenant, le dramaturge, réalisateur, acteur et cinéaste de renommée, Robert Lepage, vient au Ballet national du Canada pour la première fois pour collaborer avec l’associé chorégraphique de la compagnie, Guillaume Côté, dans une production multidisciplinaire qui explore la vie et les œuvres de Norman McLaren. Incorporant et entrelaçant plusieurs médias différents, le ballet est à la fois une évocation et une recherche du monde et de l’imagination d’un des artistes les plus hors-normes, accomplis, mais élusifs du Canada.  

« Les amateurs de Robert Lepage s’attendent à certaines choses du cinéaste canadien-français : des récits séducteurs, des observations ironiques des personnages et un art de scène qui se situe entre l’innovation technique et la magie. » Variety

Frame by Frame Voir la galerie  

Critiques

« Robert Lepage [est un]... visionnaire du théâtre canadien-français. » –The Australian

« J’accueille toute nouvelle création de Lepage avec un frisson d’anticipation, attendant d’être émerveillé encore une fois par sa magie... pour utiliser les mots d’un autre génie canadien, Neil Young, je lui souhaite longue route (« long may he run »). » – The Globe and Mail

Crédits

Directeur :
Robert Lepage

Chorégraphe :
Guillaume Côté

Direction et conception créatives :
Steve Blanchet

Musique :
Antoine Bédard

Concepteur de la scène :
Christian Fontaine

Concepteur de costumes :
Michael Gianfrancesco

Éclairagiste :
Étienne Boucher

Conceptrice vidéo :
Laurie Shawn Borzovoy

Conceptrice des accessoires :
Claudia Gendreau

Directrice adjointe :
Adèle Saint-Amand

Adjointe au chorégraphe :
Lisa Davies

Frame by Frame est une collaboration entre Le Ballet national du Canada, Ex Machina et l’Office national du film du Canada.

L’appui philanthropique principal pour Frame by Frame est fourni par le Cercle des producteurs : Gail & Mark Appel, John & Claudine Bailey, Inger Bartlett & Marshal Stearns, David W. Binet, Gail Drummond & Bob Dorrance, The Thor E. and Nicole Eaton Family Charitable Foundation, Sandra Faire & Ivan Fecan, Kevin & Roger Garland, The William & Nona Heaslip Foundation, Hal Jackman Foundation, Anna McCowan-Johnson & Donald K. Johnson, O.C., Judy Korthals & Peter Irwin, Judith & Robert Lawrie, Mona & Harvey Levenstein, Jerry & Joan Lozinski, The Honourable Margaret Norrie McCain, C.C., Julie Medland, Sandra Pitblado & Jim Pitblado, C.M., Lynda & Jonas Prince, Susan Scace & Arthur Scace, C.M., Q.C. and Gerald Sheff & Shanitha Kachan.

Parlons ballet

Le Ballet national vous invite à participer aux séances Parlons ballet, 45 minutes avant chaque spectacle dans l’Amphithéâtre Richard Bradshaw au Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts.

Rehaussez votre expérience et apprenez-en davantage au sujet de nos productions avec Lindsay Fischer, directrice artistique, de YOU dance, et première maîtresse de ballet.

Célébrer la créativité

Un chef de file de la création de nouvelles œuvres, le Ballet national se dévoue à donner des productions excitantes aux artistes et auditoires qui promettent de faire évoluer la forme artistique.

Appuyez l’innovation canadienne

Bulletin courriel

Abonnez-vous aux nouvelles du Ballet et soyez le premier à connaître la répartition des rôles.

Inscrivez-vous dès aujourd’hui

Powered by Translations.com GlobalLink OneLink Software

World Premiere

Frame by Frame

June 1—10, 2018

World Premiere

Frame by Frame

June 1—10, 2018

A ballet based on the work of Norman McLaren
By Robert Lepage and Guillaume Côté

About the Ballet

The legendary Canadian filmmaker and animator Norman McLaren set
new standards for his art form throughout his long and illustrious career.
Best-known for his ACADEMY AWARD® winning film Neighbours (1952), McLaren’s experiments in various forms of animation and his innovative use of sound, music and drawn-on-film techniques saw him create works of unparalleled richness, visual brilliance and beauty, influencing subsequent generations of filmmakers the world over.

Now, the renowned playwright, director, actor and filmmaker Robert Lepage comes to The National Ballet of Canada for the first time to collaborate with the company’s Choreographic Associate Guillaume Côté in a multidisciplinary production that explores Norman McLaren’s life and work. Incorporating and interweaving several different media, the ballet is both an evocation of and inquiry into the world and imagination of one of Canada’s most uncategorizable and accomplished, yet elusive, artists.  

“Fans of Robert Lepage have come to expect certain things from the French-Canadian theater maker: seductive storytelling, wry character observation and a stagecraft that lies somewhere between technical innovation and magic.” Variety

Reviews

“Robert Lepage [is a]…French-Canadian theatre visionary” —The Australian

“I’ve come to greet each new Lepage creation with a tingle of anticipation, waiting to be wowed by his wizardry once again… To paraphrase another Canadian genius, Neil Young, long may he run.” —The Globe and Mail

Tickets on sale September 19.

Subscriptions on sale now.
More Information

Credits

Frame by Frame is a collaboration between The National Ballet of Canada, Ex Machina and The National Film Board of Canada.

Lead philanthropic support for Frame by Frame is provided by The Producers’ Circle: Gail & Mark Appel, John & Claudine Bailey, Inger Bartlett & Marshal Stearns, David W. Binet, Gail Drummond & Bob Dorrance, The Thor E. and Nicole Eaton Family Charitable Foundation, Sandra Faire & Ivan Fecan, Kevin & Roger Garland, Emmanuelle Gattuso and Allan Slaight, The William & Nona Heaslip Foundation, Rosamond Ivey, Hal Jackman Foundation, Anna McCowan-Johnson & Donald K. Johnson, O.C., Judy Korthals & Peter Irwin, Judith & Robert Lawrie, Mona & Harvey Levenstein, Joan & Jerry Lozinski, The Honourable Margaret Norrie McCain, C.C., Julie Medland, Sandra Pitblado & Jim Pitblado, C.M., Lynda & Jonas Prince, Susan Scace & Arthur Scace, C.M., Q.C., Gerald Sheff & Shanitha Kachan, Sandra Simpson and Noreen Taylor, C.M. & David Staines, C.M., O.Ont.

Ballet Talks

The National Ballet invites you to attend the Ballet Talk 45 minutes before every show in the Richard Bradshaw Amphitheatre at the Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts.

Enhance your experience and learn more about our productions from Lindsay Fischer, Artistic Director, YOU dance/Principal Ballet Master.

Celebrate Creativity

A leader in the creation of new works, the National Ballet is dedicated to providing artists and audiences with exciting productions that promise to advance the art form.

Support Canadian innovation

Email Newsletter

Be the first to know when casting is announced by signing up for Ballet News.

Sign Up Today