2021/22 Dancer Awards
by Caroline Dickie
June 27, 2022

Congratulations to Trygve Cumpston, Selene Guerrero-Trujillo, Tirion Law and Teagan Richman-Taylor

On Sunday June 26th, 2022, members of The National Ballet of Canada gathered with donors at the Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts for the Season Closing Party, celebrating a fabulous year of artistry and engagement. The annual event is a highlight of the season and promotes a sense of shared purpose among our artists and donor family.

Nicola Tory with Trygve Cumpston and Selene Guerrero-Trujillo

Nicola Tory with Trygve Cumpston and Selene Guerrero-Trujillo. Photo by Bruce Zinger.

Nicola Tory was in attendance to present The David Tory Award, named in honour of former Vice Chairman of The National Ballet of Canada’s Board of Directors, who passed in 2006. This special award recognizes a nominated company dancer who exemplifies the values that David Tory brought to his life and work: professionalism, honesty, compassion, humility, integrity, mentorship, optimism and enthusiasm for life and the art of dance. This year the award went to two dancers, Corps de Ballet members Trygve Cumpston and Selene Guerrero-Trujillo.

Genevieve McKillop with Teagan Richman-Taylor and Tirion Law

Genevieve McKillop with Teagan Richman-Taylor and Tirion Law. Photo by Bruce Zinger.

The Patrons’ Council recognized an additional two members of the Corps de Ballet for their extraordinary progress over the year with the Patron Award of Merit, presented by Genevieve McKillop, Chair of the Patrons’ Council Committee. This year’s recipients are Tirion Law and Teagan Richman-Taylor.

Congratulations to our award-winning dancers, the company, our donors and audiences for contributing to an unforgettable season of ballet!

Email Newsletter

Be the first to know when casting is announced by signing up for Ballet News.

Sign Up Today

Ballet 365