Nijinsky Tours to Ottawa’s National Arts Centre

December 21, 2017

A Ballet by John Neumeier
January 25 – 27, 2018

Karen Kain, Artistic Director of The National Ballet of Canada, today announced the principal casting for the company’s tour of John Neumeier’s Nijinsky to the National Arts Centre in Ottawa January 25 – 27, 2018, performed as part of the National Arts Centre (NAC) Dance 2017-2018 season. Earlier this season, the company received standing ovations and critical acclaim during a triumphant tour of Nijinsky in Paris. Critics hailed Nijinsky as “sublime...truly breath-taking” (On Sort ou Pas) and “a fantastic performance” (Kulturkompasset). #NijinskyNBC

The opening night on January 25 will feature Principal Dancers Guillaume Côté as Vaslav Nijinsky, Heather Ogden as Nijinsky’s wife, Romola, and Second Soloist Ben Rudisin as Serge Diaghilev.

Subsequent performances feature First Soloists Skylar Campbell and Francesco Gabriele Frola as Vaslav Nijinsky. The role of Romola will be danced by Principal Dancer Svetlana Lunkina.

Mr. Neumeier’s moving ballet takes the audience on a journey into the life of one of the most legendary figures in the history of ballet, Vaslav Nijinsky. Revered for his spellbinding stage presence and innovative choreography, the partly biographical ballet explores Nijinsky’s art, relationships and identity.

The National Ballet will also tour Nijinsky to San Francisco’s War Memorial Opera House April 3 – 8, 2018.

Principal Casting
Vaslav Nijinsky
Guillaume Côté (January 25 at 8:00 pm)
Skylar Campbell (January 26 at 8:00 pm)
Francesco Gabriele Frola (January 27 at 8:00 pm)

Romola Nijinsky 
Heather Ogden (January 25 at 8:00 pm)
Svetlana Lunkina (January 26, 27 at 8:00 pm)

Serge Diaghilev
Ben Rudisin (January 25, 26, 27 at 8:00 pm)

All casting is subject to change.

More information about Nijinsky >


The National Ballet of Canada gratefully acknowledges Margaret Fountain, C.M. and David Fountain as our Exclusive Tour Partners.

Lead philanthropic support for Nijinsky is provided by The Catherine and Maxwell Meighen Foundation, an anonymous friend of the National Ballet, The Volunteer Committee of The National Ballet of Canada and The Producers’ Circle.

The Producers’ Circle: John & Claudine Bailey, Susanne Boyce & Brendan Mullen, Gail Drummond & Bob Dorrance, Sandra Faire & Ivan Fecan, Rosamond Ivey, Judy Korthals & Peter Irwin, Mona & Harvey Levenstein, The Honourable Margaret Norrie McCain, C.C., Julie Medland, Sandra Pitblado & Jim Pitblado, C.M., Sandra Simpson and Noreen Taylor, C.M. & David Staines, C.M., O.Ont.

The company’s Canadian tours are made possible with the generous support of The John and Margaret Bahen Fund of The National Ballet of Canada, Endowment Foundation.

Guillaume Côté is sponsored through Dancers First by Emmanuelle Gattuso and Allan Slaight.

Svetlana Lunkina is sponsored through Dancers First by Anna McCowan-Johnson & Donald K. Johnson, O.C.

Evan McKie is sponsored through Dancers First by Simona Shnaider.

Heather Ogden is sponsored through Dancers First by Ira Gluskin & Maxine Granovsky Gluskin.

Skylar Campbell is sponsored through Dancers First by Tricia Younger.

Francesco Gabriele Frola is sponsored through Dancers First by Sherry and Edward Drew.

The National Ballet of Canada gratefully acknowledges the ongoing support of the Canada Council for the Arts; the Ontario Arts Council; the City of Toronto through the Economic Development & Culture Department; the Government of Canada – Department of Canadian Heritage, through the Honourable Mélanie Joly, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages; and the Government of Ontario through the Honourable Eleanor McMahon, Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport.

Contact Information