Crystal Pite to Create New Work for 2019/20 National Ballet Season

February 28, 2018

Karen Kain, Artistic Director of The National Ballet of Canada, today announced that following several years of planning, she has commissioned acclaimed Canadian choreographer Crystal Pite to create a new work on the company. The ballet will make its world premiere in the 2019/20 season with further details announced at a later date.

Ms. Kain first commissioned Ms. Pite in 2009 to create a new work for Innovation, a programme featuring three world premieres by Canadian choreographers. Ms. Pite’s creation Emergence went on to win four Dora Mavor Moore Awards and has become a favourite with National Ballet audiences.

Crystal is an important voice and I greatly admire her work. I am so pleased to have secured this new commission from her,” said Ms. Kain. “Ever since she created her outstanding Emergence for the National Ballet in 2009, Crystal has been in such high demand around the world. I have wanted her to create another work for us for many years and it is now coming to fruition. I am so excited that the dancers of the National Ballet get to collaborate once more with this brilliant artist and I can’t wait to see what she creates.”

Emergence returns as part of Made in Canada, a programme that features The Four Seasons by James Kudelka and The Dreamers Ever Leave You by Robert Binet. Made in Canada opens the Winter Season on February 28 and runs to March 4, 2018 at the Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts.

More information on Made in Canada >


Thomson Reuters presents Made in Canada.

Lead philanthropic support for The Dreamers Ever Leave You is provided by The Volunteer Committee of The National Ballet of Canada and The Producers’ Circle.

The Producers’ Circle: Gail & Mark Appel, John & Claudine Bailey, Inger Bartlett & Marshal Stearns, Susanne Boyce & Brendan Mullen, Gail Drummond & Bob Dorrance, The Thor E. and Nicole Eaton Family Charitable Foundation, Sandra Faire & Ivan Fecan, Kevin & Roger Garland, Emmanuelle Gattuso, C.M. and Allan Slaight, C.M., Ira Gluskin & Maxine Granovsky Gluskin, The William & Nona Heaslip Foundation, Rosamond Ivey, Hal Jackman Foundation, Anna McCowan-Johnson & Donald K. Johnson, O.C., Judy Korthals & Peter Irwin, Judith & Robert Lawrie, Mona & Harvey Levenstein, Jerry & Joan Lozinski, The Honourable Margaret Norrie McCain, C.C., Julie Medland, Sandra Pitblado & Jim Pitblado, C.M., Lynda & Jonas Prince, Susan Scace & Arthur Scace, C.M., Q.C., Gerald Sheff & Shanitha Kachan, Sandra Simpson and Noreen Taylor, C.M. & David Staines, C.M., O.Ont.

The Four Seasons is a gift from The Volunteer Committee, The National Ballet of Canada.

Emergence is generously supported by Gail Hutchison.

The National Ballet of Canada gratefully acknowledges the ongoing support of the Canada Council for the Arts; the Ontario Arts Council; the City of Toronto through the Economic Development & Culture Department; the Government of Canada РDepartment of Canadian Heritage, through the Honourable M̩lanie Joly, Minister of Canadian Heritage; and the Government of Ontario through The Honourable Daiene Vernile, Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport.

Contact Information