2020/21 Season Roster Announced

September 23, 2020… Karen Kain, Artistic Director of The National Ballet of Canada, today announced the 2020/21 season roster which features 62 dancers and 12 RBC Apprentices.

The previously announced promotions this season include Spencer Hack and Siphesihle November to First Soloist and Hannah Galway to Second Soloist.

New Company Members
Joining the National Ballet’s Corps de Ballet this season is Scott McKenzie. Mr. McKenzie was born in Alexandria, Scotland and trained at The Royal Ballet School London, England. He joined the Wiener Staatsballett as a member of the Corps de Ballet in 2016 and was promoted to Demi Soloist in 2018. His repertoire includes Giselle, Swan Lake, A Midsummer Night’s Dream, The Nutcracker, Raymonda and The Four Seasons.

Jason Ferro and Daina Zolty are promoted to the Corps de Ballet from the RBC Apprentice Programme. Mr. Ferro was born in Franklinville, New Jersey and trained at San Francisco Ballet School in California. His repertoire includes The Sleeping Beauty, The Nutcracker, Marguerite and Armand and Orpheus Alive. Ms. Zolty was born in Burnaby, British Columbia and trained at HZ Ballet Classique in Burnaby, British Columbia and Canada’s National Ballet School. Her repertoire includes The Sleeping Beauty, Giselle, The Nutcracker and Chaconne.

Joining the RBC Apprentice Programme this season are Ross Allen, Gabriel Buell, Conner Hamilton, Lindy Mesmer, Emma Ouellet, Oliver Yonick and Brigid Walker.

Principal Dancer Francesco Gabriele Frola will dance full-time with English National Ballet as a Lead Principal and will appear with the National Ballet as a Guest Artist. Principal Dancer Elena Lobsanova and First Soloist Hannah Fischer have departed The National Ballet of Canada to join Miami City Ballet as Principal and Principal Soloist, respectively. Corps de Ballet members Jimmy Coleman, Nicholas Rose and Ethan Watts have departed to join The Royal Danish Ballet, Wayne McGregor’s Reset 2020 and The Royal Swedish Ballet, respectively. 

Dancer Roster and Full Biographies > 


Celebrating her 30th anniversary this season is Principal Character Artist Rebekah Rimsay.

Virtual Season

The company’s virtual season launched with Expansive Dances, three digital premieres by the National Ballet’s Choreographic Associates. Robert Binet’s Lake Maligne was released on September 10, 2020 followed by Guillaume Côté’s Lulu on September 15. In Between by Alysa Pires was released September 22. The three Expansive Dances films are directed by the acclaimed director Ben Shirinian and produced by Mr. Shirinian and Jared Cook of Lookout.

The virtual season continues with Spotlight Series, featuring digital presentations of new and existing repertoire including premieres by Kevin A. Ormsby and Jera Wolfe, both making their choreographic debuts with the company.

In collaboration with the Art Gallery of Ontario, the National Ballet will present open rehearsals of Mr. Ormsby’s work onsite in Walker Court as part of AGO Live on October 22 and 23, 2020, 1:00 to 4:00 pm.

The season continues with the National Ballet residency at Harbourfront Centre for five weeks as part of Site Alive. National Ballet dancers are currently taking company class and rehearsing The Dreamers Ever Leave You by Mr. Binet which will be performed in the Brigantine Room for a limited, socially-distanced run October 9 – 17, 2020.

More on Virtual Season > 

– 30 –

BMO Financial Group presents the 2020/21 Season.

Expansive Dances is made possible by the generous support of The Delaney Family Foundation and Sans Limites.

The National Ballet of Canada Presents
Expansive Dances
In partnership with Evergreen

Lake Maligne and In Between Filmed at Evergreen Brick Works 
Supported by Bank of America as part of Evergreen’s 2020 Cultural Performing Arts Series

Spotlight Series is funded by The Producers’ Circle.

The Producers’ Circle: Gail & Mark Appel, John & Claudine Bailey, Inger Bartlett & Marshal Stearns, Laura Dinner & Richard Rooney, Gail Drummond & Bob Dorrance, The Thor E. and Nicole Eaton Family Charitable Foundation, Sandra Faire & Ivan Fecan, Kevin Garland & Roger Garland, C.M., Ira Gluskin & Maxine Granovsky Gluskin, The William & Nona Heaslip Foundation, Anna McCowan Johnson & Donald K. Johnson, O.C., Judy Korthals & Peter Irwin, Mona & Harvey Levenstein, Jerry & Joan Lozinski, The Honourable Margaret Norrie McCain, C.C., Julie Medland, Sandra Pitblado & Jim Pitblado, C.M., The Harry & Lillian Seymour Family Foundation, Gerald Sheff & Shanitha Kachan and The Jack Weinbaum Family Foundation.

The original presentation of The Dreamers Ever Leave You was co-produced by the Art Gallery of Ontario and The National Ballet of Canada and generously supported by Sandra Faire & Ivan Fecan, Kevin Garland, Joan & Jerry Lozinski and The Honourable Margaret Norrie McCain, C.C.

The RBC Apprentice Programme is sponsored by The RBC Emerging Artists Project.

Guillaume Côté is sponsored through Dancers First by Emmanuelle Gattuso, C.M. and Allan Slaight, C.M.

Naoya Ebe is sponsored through Dancers First by Gretchen Ross.

Siphesihle November is sponsored through Dancers First by Jerry & Joan Lozinski.

Jenna Savella is sponsored through Dancers First by Elvio & Marlene DelZotto.

Hannah Galway is sponsored through Dancers First by Alison & Alan Schwartz.

The National Ballet of Canada gratefully acknowledges the ongoing support of the Canada Council for the Arts; the Ontario Arts Council; the City of Toronto through the Economic Development & Culture Department; the Government of Canada – Department of Canadian Heritage, through the Honourable Steven Guilbeault, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Multiculturalism; and the Government of Ontario through The Honourable Lisa MacLeod, Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport.

Naoya Ebe, Jenna Savella and Siphesihle November. Photo by Karolina Kuras.

For more information, please contact:

Belinda Bale
Director, Marketing and Communications
416 345 9686 x314
Catherine Chang
Senior Communications Manager
416 345 9686 x302

Contact Information