Nijinsky Returns to Toronto Following Triumphant Paris Tour

October 30, 2017

Principal Casting Announced

Karen Kain, Artistic Director of The National Ballet of Canada, today announced the principal casting for Nijinsky by John Neumeier. The company recently returned from a triumphant tour to Paris where audiences leapt to their feet after each performance. Critics hailed Nijinsky as “sublime...truly breath-taking” (On Sort ou Pas) and “a fantastic performance” (Kulturkompasset). Nijinsky is onstage November 22 – 26, 2017 at the Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts. #Nijinsky NBC

The opening night cast features Principal Dancers Guillaume Côté as Vaslav Nijinsky, Heather Ogden as Nijinsky’s wife, Romola, and Evan McKie as Serge Diaghilev.

Subsequent performances feature First Soloists Skylar Campbell and Francesco Gabriele Frola as Vaslav Nijinsky. The role of Romola will be danced by Principal Dancers Sonia Rodriguez, Svetlana Lunkina and Xiao Nan Yu. Second Soloist Ben Rudisin, who makes his debut, will perform the role of Serge Diaghilev.

John Neumeier’s moving ballet takes the audience on a journey into the life of one of the most legendary figures in the history of ballet, Vaslav Nijinsky. Revered for his spellbinding stage presence and innovative choreography, the partly biographical ballet explores Nijinsky’s art, relationships and identity.

The National Ballet will tour this masterwork to the National Arts Centre in Ottawa January 25 – 27, 2018 and to San Francisco’s War Memorial Opera House April 3 – 8, 2018.

Principal Casting

Vaslav Nijinsky
Guillaume Côté (November 22, 24 at 7:30 pm/November 26 at 2:00 pm)
Francesco Gabriele Frola (November 23 at 2:00 pm/November 25 at 7:30pm)
Skylar Campbell (November 23 at 7:30 pm/November 25 at 2:00pm)

Romola Nijinsky
Heather Ogden (November 22, 24 at 7:30 pm)
Svetlana Lunkina (November 23 at 2:00 pm/November 25 at 7:30pm)
Sonia Rodriguez (November 23 at 7:30 pm/November 25 at 2:00pm)
Xiao Nan Yu (November 26 at 2:00 pm)

Serge Diaghilev
Evan McKie (November 22, 24, 25 at 7:30 pm /November 23, 25, 26 at 2:00 pm)
Ben Rudisin* (November 23 at 7:30pm)

* Debut
All casting is subject to change.

More information about Nijinsky >


The National Ballet of Canada gratefully acknowledges Margaret Fountain, C.M. and David Fountain as our Exclusive Tour Partners.

Lead philanthropic support for Nijinsky is provided by The Catherine and Maxwell Meighen Foundation, an anonymous friend of the National Ballet, The Volunteer Committee of The National Ballet of Canada and The Producers’ Circle.

The Producers’ Circle: John & Claudine Bailey, Susanne Boyce & Brendan Mullen, Gail Drummond & Bob Dorrance, Sandra Faire & Ivan Fecan, Rosamond Ivey, Judy Korthals & Peter Irwin, Mona & Harvey Levenstein, The Honourable Margaret Norrie McCain, C.C., Julie Medland, Sandra Pitblado & Jim Pitblado, C.M., Sandra Simpson and Noreen Taylor, C.M. & David Staines, C.M., O.Ont.

The company’s Canadian tours are made possible with the generous support of The John and Margaret Bahen Fund of The National Ballet of Canada, Endowment Foundation.

Guillaume Côté is sponsored through Dancers First by Emmanuelle Gattuso and Allan Slaight.

Svetlana Lunkina is sponsored through Dancers First by Anna McCowan-Johnson & Donald K. Johnson, O.C.

Evan McKie is sponsored through Dancers First by Simona Shnaider.

Heather Ogden is sponsored through Dancers First by Ira Gluskin & Maxine Granovsky Gluskin.

Skylar Campbell is sponsored through Dancers First by Tricia Younger.

Francesco Gabriele Frola is sponsored through Dancers First by Sherry and Edward Drew.

The National Ballet of Canada gratefully acknowledges the ongoing support of the Canada Council for the Arts; the Ontario Arts Council; the City of Toronto through the Economic Development & Culture Department; the Government of Canada – Department of Canadian Heritage, through the Honourable Mélanie Joly, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages; and the Government of Ontario through the Honourable Eleanor McMahon, Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport.

Contact Information