Svetlana Lunkina, Heather Ogden and Sonia Rodriguez Debut as Anna Karenina

October 11, 2018

North American Premiere!
Opens November 10

Karen Kain, Artistic Director of The National Ballet of Canada, today announced that Principal Dancers Svetlana Lunkina, Heather Ogden and Sonia Rodriguez will make their debuts in the title role in the North American premiere of John Neumeier’s Anna Karenina. Based on Leo Tolstoy's great masterwork, Anna Karenina is the first co-operation between The National Ballet of Canada, The Hamburg Ballet and The Bolshoi Ballet and opens the 2018/19 season November 10 – 18, 2018 at the Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts in Toronto. #AnnaKareninaNBC
Set to music by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, Alfred Schnittke and Cat Stevens/Yusuf Islam, the ballet has been hailed “an Anna Karenina for our times” (NPR) following acclaimed performances in Hamburg and Moscow.

It is always exciting to add a new, full-length story ballet into the company’s repertoire and the addition of Anna Karenina is especially meaningful to me. John Neumeier inspires dancers like no other choreographer and they respond to his work by fully exploring the depths of the extraordinary characters he creates through dance,” said Ms. Kain.

The 2018/19 season features several milestone anniversaries including Ms. Ogden’s 20th anniversary with the company. She will be honoured during a performance of Anna Karenina. More details to be announced shortly.

Additional principal casting to be announced, all casting is subject to change.

More Information About Anna Karenina >


BMO presents Anna Karenina.

Anna Karenina is a co-operation between The National Ballet of Canada, The Hamburg Ballet and The Bolshoi Ballet.

Lead philanthropic support for Anna Karenina is generously provided by The Walter Carsen New Creations Fund, Richard M. Ivey, C.C., Rosamond Ivey, Margaret Anne Fountain, C.M. and David Glenn Fountain, C.M. and Tim & Frances Price, with additional support from The Volunteer Committee of The National Ballet of Canada, The Producers’ Circle and Warren Sorensen in memory of Gregory Williams.
The Producer’s Circle: Gail & Mark Appel, John & Claudine Bailey, Inger Bartlett & Marshal Stearns, Gail Drummond & Bob Dorrance, The Thor E. and Nicole Eaton Family Charitable Foundation, Sandra Faire & Ivan Fecan, Kevin & Roger Garland, Ira Gluskin & Maxine Granovsky Gluskin, The William & Nona Heaslip Foundation, Anna McCowan-Johnson & Donald K. Johnson, O.C., Judy Korthals & Peter Irwin, Judith & Robert Lawrie, Mona & Harvey Levenstein, Jerry & Joan Lozinski, The Honourable Margaret Norrie McCain, C.C., Julie Medland, Sandra Pitblado & Jim Pitblado, C.M., Lynda & Jonas Prince, Susan Scace & Arthur Scace, C.M., Q.C., Gerald Sheff & Shanitha Kachan and Noreen Taylor, C.M. & David Staines, C.M., O.Ont.
Svetlana Lunkina is sponsored through Dancers First by Anna McCowan-Johnson & Donald K. Johnson, O.C.
Heather Ogden is sponsored through Dancers First by Ira Gluskin & Maxine Granovsky Gluskin.

The National Ballet of Canada gratefully acknowledges the ongoing support of the Canada Council for the Arts; the Ontario Arts Council; the City of Toronto through the Economic Development & Culture Department; the Government of Canada – Department of Canadian Heritage, through the Honourable Pablo Rodriguez, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Multiculturalism.; and the Government of Ontario through The Honourable Sylvia Jones, Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport.

Contact Information