The National Ballet of Canada Tours to Paris

August 23, 2017

Principal Casting Announced for Nijinsky

Karen Kain, Artistic Director of The National Ballet of Canada, today announced the principal casting for the company’s upcoming tour to Paris with performances of Nijinsky, a ballet by John Neumeier. Marking the National Ballet’s return to Paris for the first time in 45 years, Nijinsky will run from October 3 – 8, 2017 at the Théâtre des Champs-Élysées. #Nijinsky NBC

Principal Dancer Guillaume Côté and First Soloists Skylar Campbell and Francesco Gabriele Frola will reprise the role of Vaslav Nijinsky. The role of Nijinsky’s wife Romola will be danced by Principal Dancers Heather Ogden, Sonia Rodriguez and Svetlana Lunkina. Principal Dancers Evan McKie and Piotr Stanczyk will perform the role of ballet impresario and Ballet Russes founder Serge Diaghilev.

John Neumeier’s moving, unflinching ballet is less a biographical study or narrative account of Nijinsky’s life than a portrait of the artist’s inner journey. Nijinsky is a work of great theatricality and a glimpse into the soul of an artist of unique and astonishing vision, whose life and works helped change the face of modernity. One of the most legendary and transformative figures in the history of ballet, Vaslav Nijinsky transfixed audiences even as his own life descended into instability and finally madness.

The company will also perform this masterwork in Toronto at the Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts November 22 – 26, 2017, in Ottawa at the National Arts Centre January 25 – 27, 2018 and in San Francisco at the War Memorial Opera House April 3 – 8, 2018.

Paris Tour Principal Casting

Vaslav Nijinsky
Guillaume Côté (October 3, 7 at 7:30 pm)
Francesco Gabriele Frola (October 4 at 7:30pm/October 8 at 4:00 pm)
Skylar Campbell (October 6 at 7:30 pm)

Romola Nijinsky
Heather Ogden (October 3, 7 at 7:30 pm)
Svetlana Lunkina (October 4 at 7:30pm/October 8 at 4:00 pm)
Sonia Rodriguez (October 6 at 7:30 pm)

Serge Diaghilev
Evan McKie (October 3, 7 at 7:30 pm)
Piotr Stanczyk (October 4, 6 at 7:30 pm/October 8 at 4:00 pm)

All casting is subject to change.

More information on The National Ballet of Canada’s tour to Paris >


The National Ballet of Canada gratefully acknowledges Margaret Fountain, C.M. and David Fountain as our Exclusive Tour Partners.

Lead philanthropic support for Nijinsky is provided by The Catherine and Maxwell Meighen Foundation, an anonymous friend of the National Ballet, The Volunteer Committee of The National Ballet of Canada and The Producers’ Circle.

The Producers’ Circle: John & Claudine Bailey, Susanne Boyce & Brendan Mullen, Gail Drummond & Bob Dorrance, Sandra Faire & Ivan Fecan, Rosamond Ivey, Judy Korthals & Peter Irwin, Mona & Harvey Levenstein, The Honourable Margaret Norrie McCain, C.C., Julie Medland, Sandra Pitblado & Jim Pitblado, C.M., Sandra Simpson and Noreen Taylor, C.M. & David Staines, C.M., O.Ont.

The company’s Canadian tours are made possible with the generous support of The John and Margaret Bahen Fund of The National Ballet of Canada, Endowment Foundation.

Guillaume Côté is sponsored through Dancers First by Emmanuelle Gattuso and Allan Slaight.

Svetlana Lunkina is sponsored through Dancers First by Anna McCowan-Johnson & Donald K. Johnson, O.C.

Evan McKie is sponsored through Dancers First by Simona Shnaider.

Heather Ogden is sponsored through Dancers First by Ira Gluskin & Maxine Granovsky Gluskin.

Skylar Campbell is sponsored through Dancers First by Tricia Younger.

Francesco Gabriele Frola is sponsored through Dancers First by Sherry and Edward Drew.

The National Ballet of Canada gratefully acknowledges the ongoing support of the Canada Council for the Arts; the Ontario Arts Council; the City of Toronto through the Economic Development & Culture Department; the Government of Canada – Department of Canadian Heritage, through the Honourable Mélanie Joly, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages; and the Government of Ontario through the Honourable Eleanor McMahon, Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport.

Contact Information