MAD HOT BALLET: DISCO Gala Repertoire Announced

May 24, 2018

Karen Kain, Artistic Director of The National Ballet of Canada, today announced the repertoire for MAD HOT BALLET: DISCO. The company’s annual million-dollar fundraising gala takes place on June 13, 2018 at the Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts.

The gala performance begins with an excerpt from Alysa Pires’ In Between, which made its premiere earlier this season during the National Ballet’s Choreographic Workshop, performed by First Soloists Emma Hawes and Alexandra MacDonald and Corps de Ballet members Christopher Gerty and Spencer Hack.

Principal Dancers Harrison James and Jillian Vanstone will perform the world premiere of Joshua Beamish’s Lollapalooza, with costumes by Canadian designer Jason Wu and music by John Adams.

Principal Dancers Sonia Rodriguez and Piotr Stanczyk will dance Por Ti choreographed by Luis Martin Oya.

Principal Dancers Svetlana Lunkina and Evan McKie will perform Juliano Nunes' SOSPIRI duet.

The gala performance will conclude with Justin Peck’s Paz de la Jolla, which will be performed as part of the National Ballet’s Summer mixed programme June 16 – 22 alongside James Kudelka’s The Man in Black and Alexander Ekman’s Cacti.

Following the performance, the gala evening will continue with a reception featuring disco-themed cocktails and hors d’oeuvres for all guests in the Isadore and Rosalie Sharp City Room. VIP guests will enjoy a private dinner onstage catered by Canadian celebrity chef Mark McEwan’s North 44 Caters followed by a night of disco dancing with the National Ballet dancers.

CIBC returns as the presenting sponsor of MAD HOT BALLET for the 12th consecutive year in support of the gala and the company.

This year’s gala co-chairs are Jen Lee Koss and Nicholas Mellamphy.

Tickets are now on sale.

Date and Venue:
June 13, 2018
Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts, 145 Queen Street West, Toronto

MAD HOT BALLET VIP Cocktail Reception and Gala Dinner
Sold Out

Single Ticket: From $60

Tickets can be purchased by calling 416 (1 866) 345 9595 or online at



Repertoire and casting is subject to change.

– 30 –

MAD HOT BALLET Presenting Sponsor: CIBC.

MAD HOT BALLET VIP Reception Sponsor: PRADA.

MAD HOT BALLET Gala Performance Plus Reception Sponsor: KPMG LLP.

Lollapalooza and Costume Design by Jason Wu are generously funded by Suzanne Rogers and Rogers Communications Inc.

Performance Segment Sponsors: Chestnut Park Real Estate Ltd.; Ewing Morris Investment Partners Ltd.

In Between was developed during the National Ballet’s Choreographic Workshop, which was made possible by the generous support of Lucille Joseph & Urban Joseph, O.C and The Delaney Family Foundation.

Cacti & The Man in Black & Paz de la Jolla presented by Deloitte.

Lead philanthropic support for Paz de la Jolla is provided by The Volunteer Committee of The National Ballet of Canada, Julie Medland in memory of her husband Ted, and The Producers’ Circle.

The Man in Black is generously supported by Gail Hutchison.

Lead philanthropic support for Cacti is made possible by an anonymous friend of the National Ballet and The Producers’ Circle.

The Producers’ Circle: Gail & Mark Appel, John & Claudine Bailey, Inger Bartlett & Marshal Stearns, Susanne Boyce & Brendan Mullen, Gail Drummond & Bob Dorrance, The Thor E. and Nicole Eaton Family Charitable Foundation, Sandra Faire & Ivan Fecan, Kevin & Roger Garland, Emmanuelle Gattuso, C.M. and Allan Slaight, C.M., Ira Gluskin & Maxine Granovsky Gluskin, The William & Nona Heaslip Foundation, Rosamond Ivey, Hal Jackman Foundation, Anna McCowan-Johnson & Donald K. Johnson, O.C., Judy Korthals & Peter Irwin, Judith & Robert Lawrie, Mona & Harvey Levenstein, Jerry & Joan Lozinski, The Honourable Margaret Norrie McCain, C.C., Julie Medland, Sandra Pitblado & Jim Pitblado, C.M., Lynda & Jonas Prince, Susan Scace & Arthur Scace, C.M., Q.C., Gerald Sheff & Shanitha Kachan, Sandra Simpson and Noreen Taylor, C.M. & David Staines, C.M., O.Ont.

Harrison James is sponsored through Dancers First by Lucy White.

Svetlana Lunkina is sponsored through Dancers First by Anna McCowan-Johnson & Donald K. Johnson, O.C.

Evan McKie is sponsored through Dancers First by Simona Shnaider.

Jillian Vanstone is sponsored through Dancers First by George & Kathy Dembroski.

Emma Hawes is sponsored through Dancers First by JJ Dayot & Rick Schiralli.

Alexandra MacDonald is sponsored through Dancers First by an anonymous donor.

Christopher Gerty is sponsored through Dancers First by Ms. Nancy Viner & Dr. Raymond Stein.

The National Ballet of Canada gratefully acknowledges the ongoing support of the Canada Council for the Arts; the Ontario Arts Council; the City of Toronto through the Economic Development & Culture Department; the Government of Canada РDepartment of Canadian Heritage, through the Honourable M̩lanie Joly, Minister of Canadian Heritage; and the Government of Ontario through The Honourable Daiene Vernile, Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport

Contact Information