2019 NBA Champion Toronto Raptors’ Kyle Lowry Debuts as a Cannon Doll in The Nutcracker

Lineup Includes Paralympians, Stars Lead Singer and WE Co-Founder
December 9, 2019... Karen Kain, Artistic Director of The National Ballet of Canada today announced the 2019/20 season lineup of Cannon Dolls for The Nutcracker. 2019 NBA Champion Toronto Raptors' Guard Kyle Lowry makes his debut as a Cannon Doll in The Nutcracker on December 19 at 7:00 pm.
Joining the National Ballet onstage as Cannon Dolls this season are Paralympians Cody Caldwell and Mike Whitehead from Team Canada, Wheelchair Rugby, Wheelchair Tennis Athletes Gillian Cruz and Anne-Marie Dolinar from Team Ontario, Stars Lead Singer Torquil Campbell, Co-Founder of WE Marc Kielburger, Soprano Measha Brueggergosman, Comedian Candy Palmater, Author Jesse Thistle and Host of Mary's Kitchen Crush Mary Berg.
Celebrity walk-on roles are a long-standing tradition with Nutcrackers all over the world. In the National Ballet’s production, the cameo roles are Cannon Dolls, colourfully costumed Russian Petrouchka dolls who shoot a cannon into the audience in Act I. To date, the National Ballet has invited 1,080 Canadian luminaries and personalities to appear onstage in the coveted roles.
Past Cannon Dolls have included Astronaut Chris Hadfield, Toronto Maple Leafs Auston Matthews and Mitchell Marner, Olympic Gold Medalist Figure Skater Tessa Virtue, Actress Sarah Gadon, members of ARKELLS, Comedian Rick Mercer, Author Emma Donoghue, Musician Brendan Canning, NDP Party Leader Andrea Horwath, Former Mayor of Toronto Barbara Hall and Mayor of Toronto John Tory.

This season’s Cannon Dolls:
December 11 at 7:00 pm
Share the Magic
Co-Founder of WE Marc Kielburger and CEO of ME to WE Roxanne Joyal
December 12 at 7:00 pm
Wheelchair Tennis Athletes Gillian Cruz and Anne-Marie Dolinar, Team Ontario, Ontario Para Network
December 13 at 7:00 pm  
Soprano Measha Brueggergosman
December 14 at 2:00 pm
Author, Keynote Speaker and Television Host Amber Mac
December 14 at 7:00 pm  
Blog TO Video Host and Producer Deepa Prashad
December 15 at 1:00 pm  
CBC Toronto and Here and Now Meteorologist Colette Kennedy
December 15 at 5:30 pm  
Singer and Actor Tyler Shaw
December 17 at 7:00 pm  
Afternoon Drive Announcer on 98.1 CHFI, Darren Osborne and Announcer on 98.1 CHFI Sarah Bartok
December 19 at 7:00 pm  
Toronto Raptors’ Guard Kyle Lowry
December 20 at 7:00 pm 
Greta Constantine Founders and Designers Kirk Pickersgill and Stephen Wong
December 22 at 1:00 pm  
Author of Kitchen Party and Host of Mary's Kitchen Crush Mary Berg  
December 22 at 5:30 pm  
Canadian Pole Vault Athlete Alysha Newman
December 24 at 1:00 pm  
Comedian and Broadcaster Candy Palmater
December 27 at 1:00 pm 
Author Terry Fallis

December 28 at 1:00 pm  
Sportsnet Hosts Caroline Cameron and Danielle Michaud
December 28 at 5:30 pm  
Maclean’s Editor-in-Chief Alison Uncles 
December 29 at 1:00 pm  
CBC Entertainment Reporter and Film Critic Eli Glasner 
December 29 at 5:30 pm  
Author Jesse Thistle
December 31 at 1:00 pm  
Paralympians Cody Caldwell and Mike Whitehead, Team Canada, Wheelchair Rugby Canada and Ontario Para Network
January 3 at 2:00 pm  
Stars Lead Singer Torquil Campbell and Writer of “STARS: Forever” Zack Russell
January 3 at 7:00 pm  
Host of CBC World Report Nil Köksal and Host, CBC The World This Hour, Joe Cummings
January 4 at 5:30 pm  
Television personalities Mike Holmes Jr. and Lisa Marie Holmes
The Nutcracker is choreographed by James Kudelka with music by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, set and costume design by Santo Loquasto and lighting design by Jennifer Tipton.
Nutcracker Story Time begins 45 minutes prior to every performance in the Richard Bradshaw Amphitheatre at the Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts.
The Nutcracker Availability Show by Show >
- 30 -
TD Bank Group presents The Nutcracker.

The Nutcracker is made possible by generous financial support from production underwriters Sandra Pitblado & Jim Pitblado, C.M., Lawrence and Ann Heisey and an anonymous friend of the National Ballet.

Nutcracker Story Time is sponsored by TD Bank Group.

Share the Magic is sponsored by Sun Life and generously underwritten by Ada Slaight.

The National Ballet of Canada gratefully acknowledges the ongoing support of the Canada Council for the Arts; the Ontario Arts Council; the City of Toronto through the Economic Development & Culture Department; the Government of Canada – Department of Canadian Heritage, through the Honourable Pablo Rodriguez, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Multiculturalism; and the Government of Ontario through The Honourable Lisa MacLeod, Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport.

Contact Information