Kota Sato

Second Soloist

Kota Sato

Kota Sato. Photo by Karolina Kuras. 

Quick Facts

Born: Tokyo, Japan
Trained: Shimura Ballet School in Japan and Canada’s National Ballet School
Joined: 2012
Second Soloist since: 2019

Kota Sato is sponsored through Dancers First by Tony Arrell, C.M. & Anne Arrell.


Five Things to Know

  1. 1Kota has loved acting since he was a child and relishes the opportunity to perform dramatic roles. In 2018, he performed the emotional role of Levin in John Neumeier’s Anna Karenina.
  2. 2Born in Tokyo, Kota moved to Toronto at the age of 15 to attend Canada’s National Ballet School. He joined the company as an RBC Apprentice in 2012.
  3. 3In 2020, he returned to Japan to perform the famous Grand Pas Classique with Shimura Ballet, where he received his early dance training.
  5. 4He dances featured roles such as The Fool in Swan Lake, Bluebird in The Sleeping Beauty, Brother Clown in The Winter’s Tale, an Icicle in The Nutcracker, the Golden Slave/the Faun in Nijinsky and L’Ivrogne in Le Petit Prince.
  6. 5
  7. His repertoire of classical and contemporary works includes Romeo and Juliet, Giselle, Cinderella, Frame by Frame, Manon, Chroma, The Man in Black, Angels’ Atlas and Orpheus Alive, among others.


Favourite Ballets

  1. 1Nijinsky
  2. 2Onegin
  3. 3Anna Karenina
  4. 4The Man in Black
  5. 5The Four Seasons





“Kota Sato absolutely stole the show (and more than a few hearts) as both the Golden Slave and the Faun, dancing with dazzling athleticism and almost scandalous sensuality, all bedroom eyes and supple hips.”
– ArtsFile.ca

The Merry Widow
“Kota Sato as the lead Pontevedrian dancer… his whiz kid technique is right up there with Russian classical pyrotechnics…”
– Ludwig van Toronto

Anna Karenina
“Kota Sato is the Mushik, or peasant, a railway worker whose death Anna witnesses. Neumeier has him weave in and out of the ballet, performing slow, twisted movement as an ever-present symbol of death, and Sato is impressive in the role.”
– Ludwig van Toronto


Peter Dwyer Scholarship (2011)
Patron Award of Merit (2019)