Jonathan Renna

Premier concepteur de personnages

Jonathan Renna Voir la galerie

Biographie

Jonathan Renna est né à Ottawa, en Ontario, et a été formé à l’École nationale de ballet du Canada. Il s’est joint au Ballet national du Canada en 1997, le quittant en 2000 pour danser avec le Northern Ballet Theatre en Angleterre et l’Alberta Ballet. M. Renna revient au Ballet national en 2007 et est promu premier concepteur de personnages en 2015.

« L’acte II de Petrouchka de Jonathan Renna était tellement émouvant... la personnification de la détresse et l’impuissance intérieures de Nijinsky.
ArtsFile.ca

Le répertoire de M. Renna inclut Oncle Nikolaï dans Casse-noisette, Mercutio et Tybalt dans Roméo et Juliette, Rothbart dans Le Lac des cygnes, Don José dans Carmen, Hilarion dans Giselle, Petrouchka dans Nijinsky, le Prince Gremin dans Onéguine Geppetto dans Pinocchio et Antigonus dans Le Conte d’hiver. Son répertoire inclut aussi des rôles dans La Belle au bois dormant, Les Aventures d’Alice au pays des merveilles, La Mouette, Manon, Un mois à la campagne, Hamlet, West Side Story Suite, Chroma, Les Saisons russes, The Man in Black, Pur ti Miro, Cendrillon, The Concert et Émergence.

En bref

Lieu de naissance : Ottawa, Ontario.
Formation : École nationale de ballet du Canada
Au BNC depuis : 1997 (retour : 2007)
Premier concepteur de personnages depuis : 2015

Citations

Chroma
« Greta Hodgkinson et Jonathan Renna se sont démarqués lors de leur pas de deux dans The Hardest Button to Button. Au-delà de leurs prouesses techniques, ils ont réussi à rendre leurs pas intéressants. » 
— DanceViewTimes.com


Carmen
« Jonathan Renna dans le rôle d’Escamillo est costumé comme un taureau, avec peau grise et cornes. Il incarne le désir charnel et représente l’archétype même du mâle rempli de testostérone qu’il exprime par des mouvements de nature animale appropriés et un accouplement brutal avec Carmen. »
— The Globe and Mail 

Onéguine
« Dans le rôle du Prince Gremin, Jonathan Renna était l’image de l’amour loyal. »
— DanceViewTimes.com

 

Powered by Translations.com GlobalLink OneLink Software

Jonathan Renna

Principal Character Artist

Jonathan Renna View Gallery

Biography

Jonathan Renna was born in Ottawa, Ontario and trained at Canada’s National Ballet School. He joined The National Ballet of Canada in 1997, leaving in 2000 to dance with Northern Ballet Theatre in England and Alberta Ballet. Mr. Renna re-joined the National Ballet in 2007 and was promoted to Principal Character Artist in 2015.

Jonnathan Renna’s Act II Petrouchka was so heartbreaking… the personification of Nijinsky’s inner distress and helplessness.
ArtsFile.ca

Recently, Mr. Renna debuted in the role of Geppetto in Pinocchio. Mr. Renna’s includes Uncle Nikolai in The Nutcracker, Mercutio and Tybalt in Romeo and Juliet, Rothbart in Swan Lake, Don José in Carmen, Hilarion in Giselle, Petruschka in Nijinsky, Prince Gremin in Onegin and Antigonus in The Winter’s Tale. His repertoire also includes roles in The Sleeping Beauty, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, The Seagull, Manon, A Month in the Country, Hamlet, West Side Story Suite, Chroma, Russian Seasons, The Man in Black, Pur ti Miro, Cinderella, The Concert and Emergence.

Mr. Renna is an instructor at both the National Ballet’s Summer Dance Intensive and In Studio, the National Ballet’s recreational dance school for all ages and levels. 

Quick Facts

Born: Ottawa, Ontario
Trained: Canada’s National Ballet School
Joined: 1997 (Rejoined: 2007)
Principal Character Artist since: 2015

Quotes

Chroma
Greta Hodgkinson and Jonathan Renna stood out in their pas de deux to The Hardest Button to Button. Beyond their technical brilliance, they made their steps interesting.” 
— DanceViewTimes.com


Carmen
“Jonathan Renna as Escamillo is costumed like a bull including grey skin and head horns. He represents, presumably, carnal lust and the male testosterone archetype, and is given suitable animalistic movement and a brutal coupling with Carmen.”
— The Globe and Mail 

Onegin
"As Prince Gremin, Jonathan Renna was a picture of dutiful love.”

— DanceViewTimes.com