Balanchine et Tchaikovsky

18 au 24 juin 2021

Balanchine et Tchaikovsky

18 au 24 juin 2021

 Aperçu 

George Balanchine a mis en scène quelques-unes de ses plus belles et captivantes œuvres sur la musique de Pyotr Ilyich Tchaïkovski, vers lequel il s’est tourné à de nombreuses reprises tout au long de sa carrière. Ce programme fait revivre trois ballets de Balanchine du répertoire du Ballet national du Canada sur Tchaïkovski, chacun une représentation rayonnante de la musique en mouvement. 

 Sérénade 

Aperçu

Créé en 1934, Sérénade est le premier ballet original de George Balanchine créé aux États-Unis et l’un des nombreux qu’il a mis en scène sur la musique de son compositeur bien-aimé Tchaïkovski, en l’occurrence la superbe et triste Sérénade pour cordes en do, op. 48. Aujourd’hui, Sérénade est une œuvre emblématique de Balanchine, notamment pour sa scène d’ouverture inoubliable – un groupe de femmes se tenant ensemble, têtes tournées avec un bras levé vers le ciel.

Cinq choses à savoir
  1. Créé pour les élèves de la School of American Ballet, une institution que George Balanchine a cofondée avec Lincoln Kirstein et Edward Warburg, Sérénade a été jouée pour la première fois dans la propriété de Felix Warburg à White Plains, New York, le 10 juin 1934. Destinée à servir de leçon aux élèves, Sérénade est aujourd’hui une œuvre emblématique du New York City Ballet, la compagnie que Balanchine a dirigée jusqu’à sa mort en 1983.
     
  2. Balanchine a retravaillé Sérénade tout au long de sa carrière. Parmi les changements importants, citons la séparation en trois parties de l’unique rôle féminin principal de l’original : Waltz Girl, Russian Girl et Dark Angel.
     
  3. Le Ballet national du Canada a interprété Sérénade pour la première fois en 1962, présentant à la compagnie et à son public l’une des œuvres phares de Balanchine alors qu’il était encore à la tête du New York City Ballet et un chorégraphe très moderne.
     
  4. L’un des éléments les plus frappants de Sérénade dans sa version actuelle ne faisait pas partie de la version originale. Balanchine a décidé plusieurs années plus tard, tout en travaillant avec celles jouant les rôles féminins principaux, que les femmes devraient danser avec leurs cheveux lâches dans le mouvement final.
     
  5. La musique est essentielle dans un ballet de Balanchine et particulièrement dans Sérénade, où la partition de Tchaïkovski donne le ton et encourage le mouvement. Balanchine a déclaré : « La seule histoire est celle de la musique, une sérénade, si l’on veut, à la lumière de la lune. »
Le chorégraphe

Né à Saint-Pétersbourg, George Balanchine, co-fondateur et directeur du New York City Ballet, est l’un des chorégraphes les plus célèbres et les plus prolifiques du XXe siècle. On lui attribue le mérite d’avoir révolutionné le style du ballet classique pour ouvrir une nouvelle ère dans des œuvres d’une musicalité et d’une esthétique sans précédent.

Le compositeur

Le compositeur russe de la fin du XIXe siècle Pyotr Ilyich Tchaïkovski a créé certaines des œuvres les plus populaires du répertoire classique, en particulier ses trois partitions complètes pour le ballet : Lac des cygnes, La Belle au bois dormant et Casse-noisette. Son œuvre comprend des opéras complets, des symphonies et des concertos.

Critiques

« Merveilleusement interprété par le Corps de Ballet, une compagnie majoritairement féminine, qui a démontré à quel point les femmes du Ballet national sont fortes. » – The Globe and Mail

« Toujours aussi bon malgré ses 70 années d’existence… grâce, en grande partie, à la compétence et au dévouement des artistes du Ballet national du Canada » — Toronto Star

« L’un des chefs-d’œuvre du ballet du 20e siècle » – Toronto Star

 Mozartiana 

Aperçu

Balanchine a créé son ballet de 1981 intitulé Mozartiana sur l’élégante Suite n° 4 de Tchaïkovski, une orchestration de courtes œuvres de Mozart datant de 1887. Dernier grand ballet que Balanchine a chorégraphié avant sa mort, Mozartiana est une œuvre intensément musicale pour une petite distribution, dont le très convoité premier rôle féminin principal que Balanchine a créé pour sa muse de longue date, Suzanne Farrell.

Cinq choses à savoir
  1. Créée pour les élèves de la School of American Ballet, une institution que Balanchine a cofondée avec Lincoln Kirstein et Edward Warburg, Sérénade a été jouée pour la première fois dans la propriété de Felix Warburg à White Plains, New York, le 10 juin 1934. Destinée à servir de leçon aux élèves, Sérénade est aujourd’hui une œuvre emblématique du New York City Ballet, la compagnie que Balanchine a dirigée jusqu’à sa mort en 1983.
     
  2. Balanchine a créé le rôle féminin principal dans Mozartiana pour Suzanne Farrell, qui a influencé le style et la structure de nombreuses œuvres de Balanchine. Farrell a fondé sa propre compagnie de ballet, le Suzanne Farrell Ballet, pour présenter les œuvres de Balanchine et elle transmet sa vaste connaissance de son esthétique aux danseurs et aux compagnies du monde entier.  
     
  3. Balanchine considérait Tchaïkovski, un compatriote russe, comme un mentor d’une autre génération et s’est tourné vers sa musique à de nombreuses reprises tout au long de sa carrière. Balanchine affirmait : « Sans l’aide de Tchaïkovski, je n’aurais pas réussi. »
     
  4. Mozartiana de 1981 n’est pas la seule version que Balanchine a créée. Il a créé une version préliminaire en 1933 pour une compagnie de courte durée qu’il a formée à Paris, Les Ballets 1933. Balanchine a revisité Mozartiana à plusieurs reprises au cours de sa carrière.
     
  5. Rouben Ter-Arutunian a conçu les costumes noirs romantiques pour Mozartiana, y compris des versions enfants des robes de tulle des femmes. Ses magnifiques créations pour le New York City Ballet comprennent les décors de Casse-Noisette de Balanchine.
Critiques

« Équilibrant un sens aigu de la poésie avec une splendeur plus froide et moins lyrique, une grande partie du ballet, empreint d’émotions et de cadences musicales qui suggèrent quelque chose d’onirique, flotte au-dessus de la musique. » – The Hamilton Spectator

« Mozartiana a été la dernière grande œuvre de Balanchine avant sa mort. La chorégraphie capture parfaitement la juxtaposition de la formalité structurée de Mozart et de l’angoisse romantique sous-jacente de Tchaïkovski. » – The Globe and Mail

 Diamonds 

Aperçu

Un ballet scintillant avec un final endiablé, Diamonds est le dernier segment du triptyque Jewels de Balanchine sorti en 1967. Chaque segment de Jewels (Emeralds, Rubies et Diamonds) est accompagné de la musique d’un compositeur différent : la symphonie n° 3 en ré majeur, op. 29 de Tchaikovsky pour Diamonds. Le thème des bijoux est le seul fil conducteur et se reflète dans les couleurs et le design merveilleux des costumes. Diamonds met en scène des tutus d’un blanc immaculé et une chorégraphie élégante qui incarne l’éclat de la musique de Tchaïkovski.

Cinq choses à savoir
  1. Balanchine a élaboré le concept de Jewels après avoir visité le bijoutier de luxe Van Cleef & Arpels à New York. Les trois segments de Jewels sont basés sur des pierres précieuses uniques, chacune avec son propre style et son propre son. Emeralds est accompagné de la musique de Gabriel Fauré et Rubies de celle d’Igor Stravinsky.
     
  2. Diamonds rend hommage à l’héritage et à la formation russes de Balanchine, et en particulier au chorégraphe Marius Petipa et à la grandeur de l’Imperial Ballet. Un pas de deux formel est au cœur de Diamonds, avec des références chorégraphiques au Lac des Cygnes, à Raymonda et à La Belle au Bois Dormant.
     
  3. Balanchine privilégie la musicalité et la technique à l’intrigue et Jewels est considéré comme le premier ballet abstrait complet. Comme l’a souligné Balanchine : « Le mouvement est aussi important dans le ballet que le son l’est dans une symphonie. »
     
  4. Barbara Karinska a conçu les costumes originaux du New York City Ballet pour Jewels, y compris les tutus éblouissants pour Diamonds. Karinska était l’une des créatrices de costumes les plus influentes du XXe siècle et une collaboratrice de longue date de Balanchine, qui disait d’elle : « Il y a Shakespeare pour la littérature et Karinska pour les costumes. »
     
  5. Le Ballet national du Canada a présenté pour la première fois Jewels au Hummingbird Centre de Toronto le 11 février 2000. Les anciens danseurs étoiles Chan Goh et Aleksandar Antonijevic ont occupé les rôles principaux dans Diamonds.

NB2021-Chan-Jewels

Anciens danseurs étoiles Aleksandar Antonejevic et Chan Hon Goh dans Diamonds de Jewels.

Critiques

« Aussi époustouflant que les bijoux qui l’ont inspiré. » – Toronto Star

Balanchine et Tchaikovsky Voir la galerie

Crédits

Sérénade

Chorégraphie :
George Balanchine

Mise en scène par :
Joysanne Sidimus

Musique :
Piotr Ilitch Tchaïkovski

Conception des costumes :
Barbara Karinska

Conception de l’éclairage :
Ronald Bates

Mozartiana

Chorégraphie :
George Balanchine

Mise en scène par :
Joysanne Sidimus, Christopher Stowell et Lindsay Fischer

Musique :
Piotr Ilitch Tchaïkovski

Conception des costumes :
Rouben Ter-Arutunian

Conception de l’éclairage :
Robert Thomson

Diamonds de Jewels

Chorégraphie :
George Balanchine

Mise en scène par :
Lindsay Fischer

Musique :
Piotr Ilitch Tchaïkovski

Conception des costumes :
Barbara Karinska

Conception de l’éclairage :
Robert Thomson

Diamonds de Jewels est un cadeau du Comité bénévole du Ballet national du Canada.

Créez votre propre abonnement et économisez!

Nombreuses options disponibles

Abonnez-vous

Approfondissez

Visitez notre section des nouvelles, Ballet News + pour un aperçu plus approfondi de toutes nos productions.

Consultez Ballet News+

Parlons ballet

Le Ballet national vous invite à assister au Ballet Talk 45 minutes avant chaque représentation à l’amphithéâtre Richard Bradshaw du Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts.

Engagez-vous encore plus en faisant un don dès aujourd’hui

Bulletin courriel

Abonnez-vous aux nouvelles du Ballet et soyez le premier à connaître la répartition des rôles.

Inscrivez-vous dès aujourd’hui

Powered by Translations.com GlobalLink OneLink Software

Balanchine & Tchaikovsky

June 18 – 24, 2021

Balanchine & Tchaikovsky

June 18 – 24, 2021

 Overview 

George Balanchine set some of his most beautiful and compelling works to the music of Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, returning to the composer many times throughout his career. This programme revives three Balanchine ballets from The National Ballet of Canada repertoire set to Tchaikovsky, each a radiant visualization of music in movement. 

Serenade

Overview

Created in 1934, Serenade was George Balanchine’s first original ballet created in the US and one of many he set to the music of his beloved composer Tchaikovsky, in this case the beautiful, mournful Serenade for Strings in C, Op. 48. Today, Serenade is an iconic Balanchine work, especially for its unforgettable opening scene – an ensemble of women standing together, heads turned, one arm raised to the sky.

Five Things to Know
  1. George Balanchine created Serenade for students at the School of American Ballet, an institution he co-founded with Lincoln Kirstein and Edward Warburg, and was first performed at the estate of Felix Warburg in White Plains, New York on June 10, 1934. Intended as a lesson for students, Serenade is now a signature work of New York City Ballet, the company Balanchine directed until his death in 1983.
     
  2. Balanchine reworked Serenade throughout his career. Significant changes include splitting the single female lead of the original into three parts: the Waltz Girl, the Russian Girl and the Dark Angel.
     
  3. The National Ballet of Canada first performed Serenade in 1962, introducing the company and its audiences to one of Balanchine’s pivotal works when he was still at the helm of New York City Ballet and very much a modern choreographer.
     
  4. One of the most striking elements of Serenade as it exists today was not part of the original version. Balanchine decided many years later, while working with the female leads, that the women should dance with their hair loose in the final movement.
     
  5. Music is everything in a Balanchine ballet and particularly so in Serenade, where Tchaikovsky’s score sets the mood and impels the movement. Balanchine has said, “The only story is the music’s story, a serenade, if you like, in the light of the moon.”
The Choreographer

Born in St. Petersburg, George Balanchine, co-founder and director of New York City Ballet, is one of the most renowned and prolific choreographers of the 20th century. He is credited with revolutionizing the look of classical ballet for a new era in works of unprecedented musicality and aesthetic brilliance.

The Composer

The late 19th century Russian composer Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky created some of the most popular works in the classical repertoire, particularly his three full-length scores for ballet: Swan Lake, The Sleeping Beauty and The Nutcracker. His body of work includes full-length operas, symphonies and concertos.

Reviews

“Exquisitely captured by the mostly female Corps de Ballet who demonstrated just how strong the National [Ballet]’s women are.” — The Globe and Mail

“Undiminished by the 70 years that have passed since its creation… thanks, in no small part to the skill and devotion brought to the work by the artists of The National Ballet of Canada” — Toronto Star

“One of the masterpieces of 20th century ballet” — Toronto Star

Mozartiana

Overview

Balanchine set his 1981 ballet Mozartiana to Tchaikovsky’s elegant Suite No. 4, an orchestration of short works by Mozart dating to 1887. The last major ballet that Balanchine choreographed before his death, Mozartiana is an intensely musical piece for a small cast, including a coveted female lead Balanchine created for his long-time muse Suzanne Farrell.

Five Things to Know
  1. Balanchine created Serenade for students at the School of American Ballet, an institution he co-founded with Lincoln Kirstein and Edward Warburg, and was first performed at the estate of Felix Warburg in White Plains, New York, on June 10, 1934. Intended as a lesson for students, Serenade is now a signature work of New York City Ballet, the company Balanchine directed until his death in 1983.
     
  2. Balanchine created the female lead in Mozartiana for Suzanne Farrell, who influenced the style and structure of numerous Balanchine works. Farrell founded her own ballet company, Suzanne Farrell Ballet, to showcase Balanchine’s works and she imparts her vast knowledge of his aesthetic to dancers and companies around the world.  
     
  3. Balanchine regarded Tchaikovsky, a fellow Russian, as a mentor from another generation and turned to his music many times throughout his career. Balanchine once said, “without Tchaikovsky’s help, I would not have managed.”
     
  4. The Mozartiana of 1981 is not the only version Balanchine created. He set an early iteration in 1933 for a short-lived company he formed in Paris, Les Ballets 1933. Balanchine revised Mozartiana several times in his career.
     
  5. Rouben Ter-Arutunian designed the romantic black costumes for Mozartiana, including smaller versions of the women’s tulle gowns for the children. His exquisite designs for New York City Ballet include the sets for Balanchine’s The Nutcracker.
Reviews

“Balancing a keenly-felt sense of poetry, with a cooler, less lyrical grandeur, much of the ballet floats above the music, full of feeling and musical cadences that suggest something of a dreamworld.” — The Hamilton Spectator

Mozartiana was Balanchine’s last major work before his death. The choreography perfectly captures the juxtaposition of the structured formality of Mozart and the underlying romantic angst of Tchaikovsky.” — The Globe and Mail

Diamonds

Overview

A glittering ballet with a showstopper finale, Diamonds is the final segment of Balanchine’s 1967 triptych Jewels. Each segment of Jewels Emeralds, Rubies and Diamonds – is set to the music of a different composer, with Diamonds featuring Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 3 in D Major, Op. 29. The jewel motif is the only through-line and is reflected in the majestic colours and design of the costumes. Diamonds features pristine white tutus and elegant choreography that embodies the brilliance of Tchaikovsky’s score.

Five Things to Know
  1. Balanchine derived the concept for Jewels after visiting the luxury jeweller, Van Cleef & Arpels, in New York City. The three segments of Jewels are based on unique precious stones, each with its own style and sound. Emeralds is set to the music of Gabriel Fauré and Rubies to Igor Stravinsky.
     
  2. Diamonds pays homage to Balanchine’s Russian heritage and training and particularly to the choreographer Marius Petipa and the grandeur of the Imperial Ballet. A formal pas de deux is at the heart of Diamonds, with choreographic references to Swan Lake, Raymonda and The Sleeping Beauty.
     
  3. Balanchine valued musicality and technique over plot and Jewels is regarded as the first full-length abstract ballet. As Balanchine has said, “The important thing in ballet is the movement itself, as it is sound which is important in a symphony.”
     
  4. Barbara Karinska designed the original New York City Ballet costumes for Jewels, including the stunning tutus for Diamonds. Karinska was one of the most influential costume designers of the 20th century and a longstanding collaborator of Balanchine’s, who once said of her: “There is Shakespeare for literature, Karinska for costumes.”
     
  5. The National Ballet of Canada first performed Jewels at Toronto’s Hummingbird Centre on February 11, 2000. Former Principal Dancers Chan Hon Goh and Aleksandar Antonijevic performed the lead roles in Diamonds.

NB2021-Chan-Jewels

Former Principal dancers Aleksandar Antonejevic and Chan Hon Goh in Diamonds from Jewels.

Reviews

“As breathtaking as the jewels that inspired it.” — Toronto Star

Balanchine and Tchaikovsky View Gallery

Credits

Serenade

Choreography:
George Balanchine

Staged by:
Joysanne Sidimus

Music:
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

Costume Design:
Barbara Karinska

Lighting Design:
Ronald Bates

Mozartiana

Choreography:
George Balanchine

Staged by:
Joysanne Sidimus, Christopher Stowell and Lindsay Fischer

Music:
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

Costume Design:
Rouben Ter-Arutunian

Lighting Design:
Robert Thomson

Diamonds - from Jewels

Choreography:
George Balanchine

Staged by:
Lindsay Fischer

Music:
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

Costume Design:
Barbara Karinska

Lighting Design:
Robert Thomson

Diamonds, from Jewels, is a gift from The Volunteer Committee, The National Ballet of Canada.

Create Your Own Subscription and Save!

Many Options Available

Subscribe

Delve Deeper

Visit our news section, Ballet News + for a more in-depth look at all of our productions.

Visit Ballet News+

Ballet Talks

The National Ballet invites you to attend the Ballet Talk 45 minutes before every performance in the Richard Bradshaw Amphitheatre at the Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts.

Engage More Deeply Donate Today

Email Newsletter

Be the first to know when casting is announced by signing up for Ballet News.

Sign Up Today