Centre national des arts

Ottawa

4 au 6 janvier 2021

Centre national des arts

Ottawa

4 au 6 janvier 2021

 Aperçu 

Sur la partition éclatante de Tchaïkovski, le Lac des Cygnes est l’incarnation du ballet classique, une œuvre appréciée dans le monde entier pour son lyrisme, sa musicalité, sa chorégraphie magistrale et pour une histoire d’amour à la fois symbolique et intime. Karen Kain, directrice artistique, met l’accent sur la romance dans le Lac des cygnes, du Prince Siegfried et à sa chère Odette, dans une nouvelle mise en scène avec une chorégraphie basée sur la version emblématique d’Erik Bruhn pour célébrer son 50e anniversaire avec le Ballet National du Canada en 2019/20.

L’histoire

Le Prince Siegfried approche de son 21e anniversaire et doit bientôt choisir une mariée. Pensif, il part à la chasse et cible un cygne qui se transforme en une magnifique femme, Odette. C’est alors qu’ils tombent amoureux. Odette a été maudite par le méchant Rothbart qui l’a forcée à vivre sous la forme d’un cygne le jour et d’une femme la nuit. Seule une véritable déclaration d’amour peut briser le sort. Mais Rothbart piège Siegfried en lui faisant déclarer son amour pour la mauvaise femme, le cygne noir Odile.

Cinq choses à savoir
  1. Le Lac des cygnes a été présenté pour la première fois en 1877 à Moscou et est interprété par les meilleures compagnies de ballet du monde. Le Ballet national du Canada a interprété trois versions du Lac des cygnes au cours des années, toutes créées par les anciens directeurs artistiques Celia Franca (1955), Erik Bruhn (1967) et James Kudelka (1999).
     
  2. La majorité des adaptations du Lac des cygnes sont basées sur la réinterprétation de 1895 par Marius Petipa et Lev Ivanov. Les chorégraphes adaptent souvent le scénario sans changer l’intégralité de la chorégraphie, laquelle est en grande partie tellement connue et aimée qu’elle en est devenue intouchable.
     
  3. Le double rôle d’Odette et Odile est l’un des plus enviés et des plus stimulants du répertoire classique. Pour l’interpréter, la ballerine doit capturer à la fois la fragilité subtile d’Odette et le dynamisme féroce d’Odile, le tout avec une technique impeccable.
     
  4. Le rôle d’Odile est reconnu pour ses 32 fouettés à la fin d’un éreintant pas de deux. Un fouetté est une sorte de pirouette dans laquelle une jambe fouette les airs avant d’entamer une rotation, créant ainsi une propulsion.
     
  5. Dans la célèbre « Danse des petits cygnes », quatre femmes traversent la scène, les bras liés, à l’unisson. La chorégraphie montre comment les bébés cygnes se regroupent pour se protéger et finissent par se séparer lorsqu’ils apprennent à voler.

Le Lac des cygnes Voir la galerie

Le créateur

Karen Kain se joint au Ballet national du Canada en 1969 et est promue danseuse étoile en 1971. Au cours de sa carrière de danseuse, elle a collaboré avec les meilleurs chorégraphes, a effectué des tournées internationales et a travaillé sur scène et au cinéma en tant qu’artiste invitée. Elle dirige le Ballet national en tant que directrice artistique avec un grand succès depuis 2005. Mme Kain prendra sa retraite de la compagnie le 20 janvier 2021.

Le compositeur

Le compositeur russe de la fin du XIXe siècle Pyotr Ilyich Tchaïkovski a créé certaines des œuvres les plus populaires du répertoire classique, en particulier ses trois partitions complètes pour le ballet : Lac des cygnes, La Belle au bois dormant et Casse-noisette. Son œuvre comprend des opéras complets, des symphonies et des concertos.

Crédits

Dirigé et mis en scène par :
Karen Kain, C.C., LL.D., D.Litt., O.Ont. d’après Erik Bruhn, Lev Ivanov et Marius Petipa

Chorégraphie et mise en scène supplémentaires par :
Christopher Pinell et Robert Binet

Musique :
Piotr Ilitch Tchaïkovski

Conceptrice de scène, des décors et des costumes :
Gabriela Týlešová

Éclairagiste :
Bonnie Beecher

Concepteur de la projection
Sean Nieuwenhuis

Associé de conception, Magasin des costumes :
Marjory Fielding

Assistant de conception, Magasin des costumes :
Allie Marshall

Associé de conception, Scène et décors :
Joshua Quinlan

Le principal soutien philanthropique du Lac des cygnes est fourni par le Walter Carsen New Creations Fund, avec de généreuses contributions de Richard M. Ivey, C.C., un ami anonyme du Ballet national, Susan Scace et Arthur Scace, C.M., Q.C., The Catherine and Maxwell Meighen Foundation, Gail Drummond et Bob Dorrance, Nancy Pencer, Sandra Pitblado et Jim Pitblado, C.M., Gretchen Ross et Donald Ross, O.C., Anne-Marie Canning, Anna McCowan Johnson et Donald K. Johnson, O.C., Tim et Frances Price, Kevin Garland et Roger Garland, C.M. and Aaron et Heather Regent. Appui supplémentaire fourni par The Producers’ Circle.

Le Cercle des producteurs : Gail & Mark Appel, John et Claudine Bailey, Inger Bartlett & Marshal Stearns, Laura Dinner & Richard Rooney, Gail Drummond & Bob Dorrance, The Thor E. and Nicole Eaton Family Charitable Foundation, Sandra Faire & Ivan Fecan, Kevin Garland & Roger Garland, C.M., Ira Gluskin et Maxine Granovsky Gluskin, The William & Nona Heaslip Foundation, Anna McCowan Johnson & Donald K. Johnson, O.C., Judy Korthals et Peter Irwin, Mona et Harvey Levenstein, Jerry & Joan Lozinski, The Honourable Margaret Norrie McCain, C.C., Julie Medland, Sandra et Jim Pitblado, C.M., The Harry & Lillian Seymour Family Foundation, Gerald Sheff et Shanitha Kachan et The Jack Weinbaum Family Foundation.

Pour de plus amples informations et pour acheter des billets, veuillez visiter le site Web du Centre national des Arts.

nac-cna.ca

Engagez-vous encore plus en faisant un don dès aujourd’hui

Bulletin courriel

Abonnez-vous aux nouvelles du Ballet et soyez le premier à connaître la répartition des rôles.

Inscrivez-vous dès aujourd’hui

Powered by Translations.com GlobalLink OneLink Software

National Arts Centre

Ottawa

January 4 – 6, 2021

National Arts Centre

Ottawa

January 4 – 6, 2021

 Overview 

Set to Tchaikovsky’s glittering score, Swan Lake is the epitome of classical ballet, beloved the world over for its lyricism, musicality and masterful choreography and for a love story that is both symbolic and intimate. Artistic Director Karen Kain gives renewed emphasis to the romance of Swan Lake – to Prince Siegfried and his beloved Odette – in a new staging, choreographed after Erik Bruhn’s landmark version in celebration of her 50th Anniversary with The National Ballet of Canada in 2019/20.

The Story

Prince Siegfried is approaching his 21st birthday and must soon choose a bride. Brooding, he goes on a hunt and takes aim at a swan, when it transforms into a beautiful woman, Odette. They fall in love. Odette has been cursed by the evil Rothbart to live as a swan by day and a woman by night. Only a pledge of true love will break the spell. But Rothbart tricks Siegfried into declaring his love for the wrong woman, the black swan Odile.

Five Things to Know
  1. Swan Lake premiered in Moscow in 1877 and is performed by top ballet companies worldwide. The National Ballet of Canada has three versions of Swan Lake in its history, all created by former Artistic Directors: Celia Franca (1955), Erik Bruhn (1967) and James Kudelka (1999).
     
  2. Most adaptations of Swan Lake are based on the 1895 revival by Marius Petipa and Lev Ivanov. Choreographers often modify the scenario without changing all of the choreography, much of which is so familiar and beloved it is untouchable.
     
  3. The dual role of Odette/Odile is among the most coveted and challenging in the classical repertoire. Performing it requires the ballerina to capture both the subtle fragility of Odette and the fierce dynamism of Odile, all with impeccable technique.
     
  4. The role of Odile is notorious for its 32 fouetté turns, which come at the end of a grueling pas de deux. A fouetté is a type of pirouette in which one leg whips out and around, creating propulsion (“fouetté” means “to whip”).
     
  5. In the famous “dance of the little swans,” or “four cygnets,” four women cross the stage, arms linked, in total unison. The choreography gestures to the way baby swans cluster together for protection and ultimately break apart, as they learn to fly.

Swan Lake View Gallery

The Creator

Karen Kain joined The National Ballet of Canada in 1969 and was promoted to Principal Dancer in 1971. Over the course of her dancing career, she collaborated with top choreographers, toured internationally and worked on stage and in film as a guest artist. She has led the National Ballet as Artistic Director with great success since 2005. Ms. Kain will retire from the company in January 2021.

The Composer

The late 19th century Russian composer Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky created some of the most popular works in the classical repertoire, particularly his three full-length scores for ballet: Swan LakeThe Sleeping Beauty and The Nutcracker. His body of work includes full-length operas, symphonies and concertos.

Credits

Directed and Staged by:
Karen Kain, C.C., LL.D., D.Litt., O.Ont. after Erik Bruhn, Lev Ivanov and Marius Petipa

Additional Choreography and Staging by:
Christopher Stowell and Robert Binet

Music:
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

Set, Property and Costume Designer:
Gabriela Týlešová

Lighting Designer:
Bonnie Beecher

Projection Designer:
Sean Nieuwenhuis

Design Associate, Wardrobe:
Marjory Fielding

Design Assistant, Wardrobe:
Allie Marshall

Design Associate, Set & Properties:
Joshua Quinlan

Produced and commissioned by The National Ballet of Canada. 

Lead philanthropic support for Swan Lake is provided by The Walter Carsen New Creations Fund, with generous underwriting from Richard M. Ivey, C.C., an anonymous friend of the National Ballet, Susan Scace & Arthur Scace, C.M., Q.C., The Catherine and Maxwell Meighen Foundation, Gail Drummond & Bob Dorrance, Nancy Pencer, Sandra Pitblado & Jim Pitblado, C.M., Gretchen Ross & Donald Ross, O.C., Anne-Marie Canning, Anna McCowan Johnson & Donald K. Johnson, O.C., Tim & Frances Price, Kevin Garland & Roger Garland, C.M. and Aaron & Heather Regent. Additional support provided by The Producers’ Circle.

The Producers’ Circle: Gail & Mark Appel, John & Claudine Bailey, Inger Bartlett & Marshal Stearns, Laura Dinner & Richard Rooney, Gail Drummond & Bob Dorrance, The Thor E. and Nicole Eaton Family Charitable Foundation, Sandra Faire & Ivan Fecan, Kevin Garland & Roger Garland, C.M., Ira Gluskin & Maxine Granovsky Gluskin, The William & Nona Heaslip Foundation, Anna McCowan Johnson & Donald K. Johnson, O.C., Judy Korthals & Peter Irwin, Mona & Harvey Levenstein, Jerry & Joan Lozinski, The Honourable Margaret Norrie McCain, C.C., Julie Medland, Sandra Pitblado & Jim Pitblado, C.M., The Harry & Lillian Seymour Family Foundation, Gerald Sheff & Shanitha Kachan and The Jack Weinbaum Family Foundation.

For more information, and to purchase tickets, please visit the National Arts Centre website.

nac-cna.ca

Engage More Deeply Donate Today

Email Newsletter

Be the first to know when casting is announced by signing up for Ballet News.

Sign Up Today