MADDADDAM
Première mondiale

21 novembre – 29 novembre 2020

MADDADDAM
Première mondiale

21 novembre – 29 novembre 2020

 Aperçu 

Cette saison, Wayne McGregor, le chorégraphe de Chroma and Genus, plusieurs fois primé, s’associe à l’une des plus grandes écrivaines vivantes du monde, Margaret Atwood, pour créer un nouveau triptyque de ballet passionnant pour le Ballet national du Canada. MADDADDAM est basé sur la trilogie originale et encensée d’Atwood : Le Dernier Homme, Le temps du déluge, et MaddAddam. Les thèmes de l’extinction et de l’invention, de l’orgueil et de l’humanité sont liés à certains aspects de l’activisme d’Atwood et à son lien profond avec le territoire canadien, d’hier et d’aujourd’hui.

Les prémisses

MADDADDAM s’inspire des fictions spéculatives d’Atwood, dans lesquelles, comme on le sait, tout ce qui se produit existe quelque part dans notre monde. Dans la trilogie MaddAddam d’Atwood, l’humanité a presque été anéantie, à l’exception d’un petit groupe qui doit se forger un nouveau mode de vie dans les ruines de son monde connu. Caractérisée par une imagination exubérante, un esprit renversant et une acuité morale inébranlable, l’écriture d’Atwood est le miroir des conséquences terrifiantes de l’expérimentation technologique incontrôlée, de la cupidité, de la misogynie et du colonialisme.

Accroche de MADDADDAM

Cinq choses à savoir
  1. MADDADDAM est une toute nouvelle œuvre produite et commandée par le Ballet national du Canada et le Royal Ballet de Londres. Il s’agit de la troisième coproduction intégrale du Ballet national avec le Royal Ballet, après Les Aventures d’Alice au pays des merveilles en 2011 et Le Conte d’hiver en 2015 de Christopher Wheeldon.
     
  2. Wayne McGregor est l’un des chorégraphes actifs les plus innovants et les plus demandés. Son langage chorégraphique est viscéral et contemporain, riche d’extensions aériennes, de beauté angulaire et de partenariats ambitieux et inattendus, comme on l’a vu dans Chroma et Genus.
     
  3. McGregor canalise sa curiosité pour les différentes formes artistiques, la science et la technologie dans des œuvres multidisciplinaires révolutionnaires qui placent la danse au centre de l’art et des idées contemporaines. Il crée des chorégraphies pour le théâtre, la danse, l’opéra, le cinéma, les vidéoclips et les défilés de mode et il est titulaire d’un doctorat honorifique en sciences de l’université de Plymouth.
     
  4. Pour MADDADDAM, McGregor a réuni l’équipe de création de son ballet historique Woolf Works de 2015, une œuvre complète basée sur la vie et les écrits d’un autre géant de la littérature, Virginia Woolf. L’équipe comprend l’influent compositeur Max Richter, qui a récemment créé la bande sonore du film Ad Astra de 2019, la conceptrice d’éclairage Lucy Carter, la société de design We Not I, l’artiste de cinéma Ravi Deepres et la dramaturge Uzma Hameed.
     
  5. Comme McGregor, Margaret Atwood repousse les limites des formes et des genres traditionnels dans son travail et est depuis longtemps fascinée par les découvertes scientifiques. Dans Le Dernier Homme, elle a déclaré vouloir demander : « Et si nous continuons sur la voie dans laquelle nous sommes déjà engagés? Dans quelle mesure la pente est-elle glissante? Qu’est-ce qui nous sauvera? Qui veut nous arrêter? »

MADDADDAM Voir la galerie

Les créateurs

Le chorégraphe anglais Wayne McGregor a acquis une reconnaissance internationale pour son approche cinétique et interdisciplinaire de la danse. Il est directeur artistique de Wayne McGregor | Random Dance, associé artistique au Sadler’s Wells Theatre et, depuis 2006, chorégraphe résident au Royal Ballet, et le premier chorégraphe contemporain à occuper ce poste.

L’autrice la plus décorée du Canada, Margaret Atwood a écrit plus de 50 romans, poèmes, essais critiques et romans graphiques et ses œuvres sont publiées dans plus de 45 pays dans le monde. Son livre à succès La Servante écarlate est désormais une série télévisée primée et Les Testaments, sa suite tant attendue, est le co-lauréat du 2019 Booker Prize.

Le compositeur

Né en Allemagne, Max Richter est un compositeur et musicien influent, réputé pour sa capacité à combiner la tradition classique avec la musique électronique et contemporaine. Son travail en solo et ses compositions pour la scène et l’écran sont très remarqués. Il a notamment composé les musiques des émissions de télévision britanniques Black Mirror et Peaky Blinders et du film Valse with Bashir, lauréat aux Golden Globes.

Critiques

« [Wayne McGregor est] un expérimentateur audacieux à l’esprit toujours en ébullition, qui est déterminé à bousculer son auditoire hétéroclite, ses collaborateurs et lui-même. » – The New York Times

« Un pionnier dans l’exploitation des liens entre son art et les développements scientifiques qui ont révolutionné la vie au XXIe siècle. » – The Financial Times

« Art, musique, philosophie, science, événements actuels… Tout cela se combine de manière magnifique et stimulante lorsque McGregor donne le meilleur de lui-même. » – The Telegraph

« Margaret Atwood est depuis longtemps l’écrivaine la plus célèbre du Canada, et les événements actuels ont contribué à parfaire l’éclat de sa réputation. » – The New Yorker

Communiqué commun : Wayne McGregor et Margaret Atwood présentent MADDADDAM, une collaboration internationale majeure entre le Ballet national du Canada et le Royal Ballet.

Crédits

Inspiré de la trilogie MaddAddam de Margaret Atwood.

Chorégraphie :
Wayne McGregor, CBE

Musique originale :
Max Richter

Conseiller en création :
Margaret Atwood

Conception :
We Not I

Conception de l’éclairage :
Lucy Carter

Conception cinématographique :
Ravi Deepres

Dramaturgie :
Uzma Hameed

Adjointe au chorégraphe :
Jenny Tattersall

Coproduit et commandé par le Ballet national du Canada et le Royal Ballet (Royaume-Uni).

Le soutien philanthropique principal pour MADDADDAM est fourni par le Walter Carsen New Creations Fund, avec une généreuse contribution de Rosamond Ivey et de The Producers’ Circle.

Le Cercle des producteurs : Gail & Mark Appel, John et Claudine Bailey, Inger Bartlett & Marshal Stearns, Laura Dinner & Richard Rooney, Gail Drummond & Bob Dorrance, The Thor E. and Nicole Eaton Family Charitable Foundation, Sandra Faire & Ivan Fecan, Kevin Garland & Roger Garland, C.M., Ira Gluskin et Maxine Granovsky Gluskin, The William & Nona Heaslip Foundation, Anna McCowan Johnson & Donald K. Johnson, O.C., Judy Korthals et Peter Irwin, Mona et Harvey Levenstein, Jerry & Joan Lozinski, The Honourable Margaret Norrie McCain, C.C., Julie Medland, Sandra et Jim Pitblado, C.M., The Harry & Lillian Seymour Family Foundation, Gerald Sheff et Shanitha Kachan et The Jack Weinbaum Family Foundation.

Créez votre propre abonnement et économisez!

Nombreuses options disponibles

Abonnez-vous

Approfondissez

Visitez notre section des nouvelles, Ballet News + pour un aperçu plus approfondi de toutes nos productions.

Consultez Ballet News+

Parlons ballet

Le Ballet national vous invite à assister au Ballet Talk 45 minutes avant chaque représentation à l’amphithéâtre Richard Bradshaw du Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts.

Engagez-vous encore plus en faisant un don dès aujourd’hui

Bulletin courriel

Abonnez-vous aux nouvelles du Ballet et soyez le premier à connaître la répartition des rôles.

Inscrivez-vous dès aujourd’hui

Powered by Translations.com GlobalLink OneLink Software

MADDADDAM
World Premiere

November 21– 29, 2020

MADDADDAM
World Premiere

November 21– 29, 2020

 Overview 

This season, Wayne McGregor, the multi-award winning choreographer of Chroma and Genus, joins forces with one of the world’s greatest living writers, Margaret Atwood, to create a thrilling new ballet triptych for The National Ballet of Canada. MADDADDAM is based on Atwood’s acclaimed novel trilogy, Oryx and Crake, The Year of the Flood, and MaddAddam. Themes of extinction and invention, hubris and humanity are spliced together with aspects of Atwood's activism and her deep connection to the Canadian landscape, past and present.

The Premise

MADDADDAM is inspired by Atwood’s speculative fictions, in which, famously, nothing is invented that is not already occurring somewhere in our world. In Atwood’s MaddAddam trilogy, humanity has nearly been obliterated apart from a small group who must forge a new way of life in the ruins of their known world. Characterized by exuberant imagination, disruptive wit and unflinching moral acuity, Atwood’s writing holds up a mirror to the terrifying consequences of out of control technological experimentation, greed, misogyny and colonialism.

MADDADDAM Teaser

Five Things to Know
  1. MADDADDAM is a brand new work co-produced and co-commissioned by The National Ballet of Canada and The Royal Ballet in London. This is the National Ballet’s third full-length co-production with The Royal Ballet, following Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland in 2011 and The Winter’s Tale in 2015, both by Christopher Wheeldon.
     
  2. Wayne McGregor is one of the most innovative and in-demand choreographers working today. His choreographic language is visceral and contemporary, full of sky-high extensions, angular beauty and ambitious, unexpected partnering, as seen in Chroma and Genus.
     
  3. McGregor channels his curiosity about various artistic forms, science and technology into trailblazing multi-disciplinary works that position dance at the centre of contemporary art and ideas. He choreographs for theatre, dance, opera, film, music videos and fashion shows and holds an Honorary Doctor of Science from Plymouth University.
     
  4. For MADDADDAM, McGregor has reassembled the creative team behind his landmark 2015 ballet Woolf Works, a full-length work based on the life and writings of another literary giant, Virginia Woolf. The team includes influential composer Max Richter – who recently created the soundtrack for the 2019 film Ad Astra – lighting designer Lucy Carter, design firm We Not I, film artist Ravi Deepres and dramaturg Uzma Hameed.
     
  5. Like McGregor, Margaret Atwood pushes the boundaries of traditional forms and genres in her work and has long been fascinated with scientific discovery. In Oryx and Crake, she says she wanted to ask, “What if we continue down the road we’re already on? How slippery is the slope? What are our saving graces? Who’s got the will to stop us?”

MADDADDAM View Gallery

The Creators

English choreographer Wayne McGregor has gained international recognition for his kinetic, interdisciplinary approach to dance. He is Artistic Director of Wayne McGregor | Random Dance, Artistic Associate at Sadler's Wells Theatre and, since 2006, Resident Choreographer at The Royal Ballet – the first contemporary choreographer ever to hold this position.

Canada’s most decorated author, Margaret Atwood, has written more than 50 books of fiction, poetry, critical essays and graphic novels and she is published in more than 45 countries worldwide. Her bestseller The Handmaid’s Tale is now an award-winning television series and The Testaments, her long-awaited sequel, is the co-winner of the 2019 Booker Prize.

The Composer

Born in Germany, Max Richter is an influential composer and musician renowned for combining classical tradition with electronic and contemporary music. His high profile solo work and compositions for stage and screen include scores for the British television shows Black Mirror and Peaky Blinders and for the Golden Globe-winning film, Waltz with Bashir.

Reviews

“[Wayne McGregor is] an adventuresome experimenter with a restless mind, intent on pushing his disparate audience, his collaborators and himself.” — The New York Times

“A pioneer in exploiting the links between his art, and the scientific development that have revolutionised 21st-century life.” — The Financial Times

“Art, music, philosophy, science, current events... When McGregor is working at his best, they come together in a magnificently stimulating whole.” —The Telegraph

“Margaret Atwood has long been Canada’s most famous writer, and current events have polished the oracular sheen of her reputation.” — The New Yorker

Joint Release: Wayne McGregor and Margaret Atwood present MADDADDAM, A Major International Collaboration Between The National Ballet of Canada and The Royal Ballet.

Credits

Inspired by Margaret Atwood’s MaddAddam Trilogy.

Choreography:
Wayne McGregor, CBE

Original Music:
Max Richter

Creative Consultant:
Margaret Atwood

Design:
We Not I

Lighting Design:
Lucy Carter

Film Design:
Ravi Deepres

Dramaturgy:
Uzma Hameed

Assistant to the Choreographer:
Jenny Tattersall

Co-produced and commissioned by The National Ballet of Canada and The Royal Ballet (UK).

Lead philanthropic support for MADDADDAM is provided by The Walter Carsen New Creations Fund, with generous underwriting from Rosamond Ivey and The Producers' Circle.

The Producers’ Circle: Gail & Mark Appel, John & Claudine Bailey, Inger Bartlett & Marshal Stearns, Laura Dinner & Richard Rooney, Gail Drummond & Bob Dorrance, The Thor E. and Nicole Eaton Family Charitable Foundation, Sandra Faire & Ivan Fecan, Kevin Garland & Roger Garland, C.M., Ira Gluskin & Maxine Granovsky Gluskin, The William & Nona Heaslip Foundation, Anna McCowan Johnson & Donald K. Johnson, O.C., Judy Korthals & Peter Irwin, Mona & Harvey Levenstein, Jerry & Joan Lozinski, The Honourable Margaret Norrie McCain, C.C., Julie Medland, Sandra Pitblado & Jim Pitblado, C.M., The Harry & Lillian Seymour Family Foundation, Gerald Sheff & Shanitha Kachan and The Jack Weinbaum Family Foundation.

Create Your Own Subscription and Save!

Many Options Available

Subscribe

Delve Deeper

Visit our news section, Ballet News + for a more in-depth look at all of our productions.

Visit Ballet News+

Ballet Talks

The National Ballet invites you to attend the Ballet Talk 45 minutes before every performance in the Richard Bradshaw Amphitheatre at the Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts.

Engage More Deeply Donate Today

Email Newsletter

Be the first to know when casting is announced by signing up for Ballet News.

Sign Up Today