Robert Binet

Associé chorégraphique / Directeur de création, CreativAction

Robert Binet. Photo par Aleksandar Antonijevic.

Robert Binet. Photo par Karolina Kuras.

Biographie

Robert Binet est né à Toronto et est diplômé de l’École nationale de ballet du Canada. Il a été nommé associé chorégraphique du Ballet national du Canada en 2013 et a créé des œuvres pour la compagnie comme Unearth, sur une musique originale d’Owen Pallett, These Worlds In Us, The Wild Space Between Two Hearts, Orpheus Becomes Eurydice, une collaboration avec The Banff Centre, The Dreamers Ever Leave You, en collaboration avec le Musée des beaux-arts de l’Ontario, ainsi que plusieurs œuvres pour les ateliers de chorégraphie, le programme YOU dance et des galas.

En 2015, M. Binet a présenté des extraits de Orpheus Becomes Eurydice à TEDxToronto 2015 et a créé The Blue of Distance pour le New York City Ballet. M. Binet était le tout premier apprenti chorégraphe pour The Royal Ballet de 2012 à 2013 et avait comme mentor Wayne McGregor, le chorégraphe en résidence. En 2016, M. Binet est revenu pour créer Void and Fire pour The Royal Ballet, pour les célébrations du dixième anniversaire de M. McGregor. En 2017, M. Binet a créé The Dreamers Ever Leave You et Self and Soul pour le 12e concours international pour Le Prix Erik Bruhn.

M. Binet a créé des œuvres pour la compagnie junior du Dutch National Ballet, l’Estonian National Ballet, le German National Youth Ballet, le concours Genée International Ballet Competition et Ballet Black. Il a aussi chorégraphié la vidéo musicale pour Song for Five & Six de Owen Pallett et The Party Line de Belle and Sebastian.

M. Binet avait comme mentore Karen Kain pour le Programme de mentorat des arts de spectacle du Gouverneur général de 2017.
 

Citations

« La voix de chorégraphe de M. Binet dans The Blue of Distance est (...) la plus remarquablement poétique parmi les premières... Les liens qu’elle établit avec les partitions de Ravel, “Oiseaux tristes” et “Une barque sur l’océan” (tous deux de “Miroirs”) sont fascinants, notamment les interstices entre les danseurs; l’espace ici est le reflet du son. »
— The New York Times

 

Powered by Translations.com GlobalLink OneLink Software

Robert Binet

Choreographic Associate

Robert Binet. Photo by Aleksandar Antonijevic.

Robert Binet. Photo by Aleksandar Antonijevic.

Biography

Robert Binet was born in Toronto and is a graduate of Canada’s National Ballet School. He was appointed Choreographic Associate of The National Ballet of Canada in 2013 and has created works for the company such as Unearth, set to an original score by Owen Pallett, These Worlds In Us, The Wild Space Between Two Hearts, Orpheus Becomes Eurydice, a co-production with The Banff Centre, The Dreamers Ever Leave You, a co- production with the Art Gallery of Ontario, as well as numerous works for the Choreographic Workshops, YOU dance programme and galas.

In 2015, Mr. Binet spoke and presented excerpts of Orpheus Becomes Eurydice at TEDxToronto 2015 and created The Blue of Distance for New York City Ballet. Mr. Binet was the first-ever Choreographic Apprentice for The Royal Ballet from 2012 to 2013 and received mentorship from Resident Choreographer Wayne McGregor. In 2016, Mr. Binet returned to create Void and Fire for The Royal Ballet for Mr. McGregor’s 10th anniversary celebrations. In 2017, Mr. Binet created The Dreamers Ever Leave You and Self and Soul, which was created for the 12th International Competition for The Erik Bruhn Prize.

Mr. Binet has created works for the Dutch National Ballet’s junior company, Estonian National Ballet, German National Youth Ballet, The Genée International Ballet Competition and Ballet Black. He also choreographed the music video for Owen Pallett’s Song for Five & Six and Belle and Sebastian’s The Party Line.

Mr. Binet was mentored by Karen Kain for the 2017 Governor General’s Performing Arts Award Mentorship Program.
 

Quotes

“Mr. Binet’s choreographic voice in “The Blue of Distance” is the… most remarkably poetic among the premieres… The connections it makes to its Ravel scores, “Oiseaux tristes” and “Une barque sur l’océan” (both from “Miroirs”), are fascinating, not least in the interstices between dancers; space here mirrors sound.” The New York Times, 2015