Karen Kain, C.C.

Directrice artistique

Karen Kain. Photo par Aleksandar Antonijevic.

Karen Kain. Photo par Karolina Kuras.

Biographie

Reconnue depuis longtemps comme une des danseuses classiques les plus douées de sa génération, remarquée pour ses fascinantes interprétations et pour la polyvalence de son talent, la directrice artistique Karen Kain figure parmi les défenseurs des arts les plus célèbres et les plus engagés du Canada. Née à Hamilton, en Ontario, Mme Kain a reçu sa formation à l’École nationale de ballet du Canada à Toronto, avant de se joindre au Ballet national du Canada en 1969. Elle est rapidement promue danseuse étoile de la compagnie en 1971, après ses débuts sensationnels dans le rôle de la Reine des cygnes, dans Le Lac des cygnes.

En 1973, au prestigieux Concours international de ballet de Moscou, Mme Kain remporte la médaille d’argent dans la catégorie ballerines et reçoit, avec Frank Augustyn qui était souvent son partenaire à l’époque, le prix spécial du meilleur pas de deux. Par la suite, elle fait une remarquable carrière internationale, interprétant un bon nombre des plus grands rôles de ballet avec des compagnies telles que le Ballet de l’Opéra de Paris, le Ballet de Marseille de Roland Petit, le Ballet du Bolchoï, le London Festival Ballet et le Ballet de l’Opéra d’État de Vienne. Au fil de sa carrière, elle a aussi collaboré étroitement avec Rudolf Nureyev sur le plan de la création artistique et s’est souvent produite avec lui. Artiste recherchée par les plus éminents chorégraphes du monde, elle crée de nombreuses et importantes nouvelles œuvres au cours de sa carrière.

Mme Kain met fin à sa carrière de danseuse en 1997, après une tournée d’adieu, et devient peu après artiste résidente du Ballet national, rôle qui l’a amenée à exercer plus tard les fonctions d’artiste associée. En 2004, elle remonte pour la compagnie la version phare de La Belle au bois dormant chorégraphiée par Rudolf Nureyev et, l’année suivante, elle est nommée directrice artistique de la compagnie.

Au cours de sa carrière, Mme Kain a reçu de nombreux prix canadiens et internationaux soulignant aussi bien ses réalisations artistiques que les actions qu’elle a entreprises pour la promotion des arts. Elle est Compagnon de l’Ordre du Canada, première lauréate canadienne du prix Cartier Lifetime Achievement Award et le gouvernement français lui a remis les insignes d’Officier de l’ordre des Arts et des Lettres. Le Gouverneur général lui a remis le prix du Centre national des Arts en 1997 et un prix pour l’ensemble de sa carrière en 2002. De 2004 à 2008, Mme Kain occupe les fonctions de présidente du Conseil des arts du Canada. En 2007, elle reçoit le prix Barbara Hamilton Memorial Award pour l’excellence et le professionnalisme de ses réalisations dans le domaine des arts de la scène. L’année 2008 a vu l’ouverture officielle de la Karen Kain School for the Arts, une école qui porte son nom afin de souligner ses importantes contributions à la vie culturelle du pays; en 2011, Mme Kain a reçu le prix d’artiste distinguée (Distinguished Artist Award) de l’International Society for the Performing Arts.
 

Citations

« Sous le règne de Karen Kain, le Ballet national du Canada est devenu une des compagnies les plus excitantes au monde. »Toronto Life

« Nouvelles œuvres. Source de vie. Pensées à l’avenir. Acclamations sur acclamations. Floreat Karen Kain et sa compagnie. » Financial Times (Londres, UK)

« Kain a redynamisé la compagnie par l’embauche de quelques danseurs superbes et en attirant les meilleurs chorégraphes du monde. Elle rassemble aussi un des répertoires les plus divers de l’histoire de la compagnie. »Maclean’s Magazine

Powered by Translations.com GlobalLink OneLink Software

Karen Kain, C.C.

Artistic Director

Karen Kain. Photo by Aleksandar Antonijevic.

Karen Kain. Photo by Karolina Kuras.

Biography

Long recognized as one of the most gifted classical dancers of her era, noted for her compelling characterizations and versatility as a performer, Artistic Director Karen Kain is one of Canada’s most renowned and committed advocates for the arts. Born in Hamilton, Ontario, Ms. Kain received her training at Canada’s National Ballet School in Toronto, joining the Corps de Ballet of the National Ballet of Canada in 1969. She was quickly promoted to Principal Dancer in 1971 with the company after her sensational debut as the Swan Queen in Swan Lake.

"Under the enlightened and demanding direction of Karen Kain, former great international ballet star, the company has earned its place at the highest level, enriching its repertory considerably by collaborating with the greatest choreographers of our time."
Danses Avec La Plume

In 1973, Ms. Kain was awarded the Silver Medal in the Women’s Category at the prestigious International Ballet Competition in Moscow and, along with her frequent partner at the time, Frank Augustyn, received a special prize for Best Pas de Deux. Subsequently, she embarked on a remarkable international career during which she performed many of ballet’s greatest roles with such companies as Paris Opéra Ballet, Roland Petit’s Le Ballet de Marseilles, the Bolshoi Ballet, London Festival Ballet, The Hamburg Ballet and Vienna State Opera Ballet. Throughout her career she also developed a close creative partnership with Rudolf Nureyev and often performed with him. A favourite of some of the world’s most prominent choreographers, she premiered many new and important works during her time as a dancer.

Ms. Kain retired from dancing following a farewell tour in 1997 and took up the position of Artist-in-Residence with the National Ballet, a role that was later expanded to that of Artistic Associate. In 2004, she restaged Rudolf Nureyev’s landmark version of The Sleeping Beauty for the company and the following year was named Artistic Director.

Ms. Kain has received many Canadian and international awards throughout her career, testifying to her accomplishments both as an artist and an advocate for the arts. She is a Companion of the Order of Canada, the first Canadian recipient of the Cartier Lifetime Achievement Award and was named an Officer of the Order of Arts and Letters by the Government of France. In 1997, Ms. Kain was honoured with a Governor General’s National Arts Centre Award and received a Governor General’s Award for Lifetime Artistic Achievement in 2002. From 2004 to 2008, she was Chair of the Canada Council for the Arts. In 2007, she was presented with the Barbara Hamilton Memorial Award for demonstrating excellence and professionalism in the performing arts. In 2008, the Karen Kain School for the Arts officially opened, a tribute to Ms. Kain’s ongoing contributions to the cultural life of her country, and in 2011, Ms. Kain was honoured by the International Society for the Performing Arts with the Distinguished Artist Award.
 

Quotes

"Under the reign of Karen Kain, The National Ballet of Canada has flowered into one of the most thrilling companies in the world."
— Toronto Life

"New work. Life blood. Thought for the future. Cheers and more cheers. Floreat Karen Kain and her company."
Financial Times (London, UK)

"Kain has reinvigorated the company by hiring some superb dancers and courting the world's top choreographers. She is also assembling one of the most diverse repertoires in the company's history."
Maclean’s Magazine

"The company, directed by Canadian Karen Kain who was one of the greatest interprets of Roland Petit, is of the highest standard comprising numerous stars of strong individuality who glide seamlessly into multiple roles."
Concert Classic on Nijinsky in Paris